We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worse landlady ever treat ur staff better”
Review of Little John Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little John Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hathersage
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Weve drank at little john a few times and ar shocked at what we have seen and heard We have drank in a few pubs and this one has to have the worst ever Landlady! she has very bad manners towards people , catch her in a bad mood / bad day and looks like everyone gets it we have experienced her verbally attack her bar staff . Think she needs to go for customer relations training. We and LOTS of other customers have experienced her telling (shouting) at her bar staff off in front of all her customers in a fowl manner this is not at all good practice. and am sure it will not do her staffs moral any good.The staff we have met while drinking there most work hard and are polite and chatty.
A good point
The meals are big and filling We were served a meal and drinks by new staff "Danny". Who was very polite and friendly. Towards us. Good at his job.
The hotel is been referbished and is looking good.
From lots of customers who drink. There.
Landlady needs to treat her staff better. She needs to realise she has good staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2015

Dear Guest. As a new manager of the Little John Hotel, I really want to apologize for your unpleasant stay in our Hotel. I want to inform you that we have improved ourselves, and I will be really glad if I can invite you for another stay in our hotel, so that you can see for yourselves that the problems you have mentoined are not going to be repeated. Your sincerely Zlatko ( manager of Little John Hotel)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 225 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

The first accomodation along the Derwent Valley Heritage Walk. Huge room with 4 beds for 2 of us, I think we had been bounced from the twin room booked due to another guest's complaint. Although clean. there was only one accessible power point. This meant kettle had to be plugged in on floor, hair dried while standing on the bed- due to position of mirror ,before plugging in the only bedside lamp Light over basin didn't work and one bulb of ceiling light out. Unfinished paint work in bathroom. When I mentioned this the proprietor pointed out the cost of electricity! This is a large busy pub doing loads of meals-maybe that contributes to energy costs too
The plumbing made very alarming noises whenever someone in the vicinity turned on the water
The bar/restaurant staff were friendly and efficient and the food good and excellent value and L J beer lovely.However although the cooked breakfast was mammoth I wouldn't have dared asked the unsmiling chef,who also served it ,for a cereal alternative

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2015

Dear Guest. As a new manager of the Little John Hotel, I really want to apologize for your unpleasant stay in our Hotel. I want to inform you that we have improved ourselves, and I will be really glad if I can invite you for another stay in our hotel, so that you can see for yourselves that the problems you have mentoined are not going to be repeated. Your sincerely Zlatko ( manager of Little John Hotel)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Rooms were quite good but lack of courtesy from owner was apalling. Upon arriving, surrounded by bags and children, we were asked if we wanted to `settle bill'!! Room with 4 month old baby was above noisy music which went on until 1am. For the second night the occupants were forced to move to another bed & breakfast in order to get some sleep. (No apologies). Security alarm went off twice at 4am with no apologies the next day. Upon arriving back from a wedding at 11pm, we were `grilled' by the owner as to how many of us there were and if we had paid or not. I could go on and on but suffice to say this is one place we will not be returning to or recommending to anyone. Awful, awful, awful.

Room Tip: Stay as far away from this place as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2015

Dear Guest. As a new manager of the Little John Hotel, I really want to apologize for your unpleasant stay in our Hotel. I want to inform you that we have improved ourselves, and I will be really glad if I can invite you for another stay in our hotel, so that you can see for yourselves that the problems you have mentoined are not going to be repeated. Your sincerely Zlatko ( manager of Little John Hotel)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I spent bank holiday weekend in The Little John and had a great weekend. I stayed in "The little John" Room in the Hotel and it was a very large very well decorated and clean room. I couldn't have aksed for more. We ate our evening meals in the restaurant and between the 4 of us including on vegitarian the meals where huge in size, tasted brilliant and very good value for money. I would definately recommend this place if you looking for accomodation in Hathersage. The 3 girls I travelled with stayed in "The Little John" cottage which was also very spacious and very well decorated.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2016

Thank you for your review. We now have 8 en-suite bedrooms and 2 self contained holiday cottages and would welcome a re-visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in LJ's for the weekend..myself, my partner and our 2 daughters. On the Friday night we ate here with 14 other guests (pre booked) food was excellent would recommend the wrapped chicken or gammon. Rooms were of a decent standard the owner (Steph) was very friendly and made our stay much more pleasant, we were made to feel very welcome in this small family run business. Breakfast was very nice and I do not agree with previous comments made about the chef being rude as we were made to feel very welcome. Would defiantly stay here again...thank you for your hospitality :) x

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2016

Thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We booked to stay in one of 3 cottages last weekend having found the hotel in Pets Welcome! We arrived on Friday afternoon for a 2 night stay. The cottage was ideal with stone floor downstairs (ideal for wet dog) with a combined sitting room and dining area , a separate kitchen and two bedrooms upstairs. Wifi was available which made our daughter happy. The cottage was clean and comfortable. There was a good shower with plenty of hot water and the beds were great. Tea bags, instant coffee and packaged milk were provided but there was no cafetiere or tea pot which would have been useful. We ate in the pub on Friday night which was packed with locals. The dog was made welcome and was one of several. Service was friendly and efficient and the food was good. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jskp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2016

Thank you for your review. We now have 8 en-suite bedrooms and 2 self contained holiday cottages and we would welcome a re-visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

As a familly we have regularlly used The Littlejohn as a base for climbing for nearly 20 years, either B&B, self catering or just for an evening meal. We have always been well looked after by the owner. Excellent for dog owners as your dog can be with you at all times.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, Guest Relations Manager at Little John Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2016

Thank you for your review. We would now like to introduce our new head chef, Mr. Kiss.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hathersage
0.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
401 reviews
5.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
8.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
393 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
11.7 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little John Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little John Hotel

Address: Station Road | Hope Valley, Hathersage, Peak District National Park S32 1DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hathersage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hathersage
Price Range: $83 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Little John Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little John Hotel Hathersage, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing