We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Burnswark Cottage Burnswark Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Burnswark Cottage
Burnswark Cottage
four poster bedroom
Garden
garden in winter
The  History of Bottoms Reservoir, the engineer and the conservation area. Hadfield.
Longdendale valley and reservoir
Bottoms Reservoir.Hadfield.
local views
The Victorian  Pump house,Bottoms Reservoir. Hadfield.
The Weir Bottoms Reservoir.Hadfield
The Overflow fountain Bottoms Reservoir. Hadfield.
The Weirs. Bottoms Reservoir. Hadfield.
local views
local views
local views
local views
local views
Local View
Local View
Local View
Ladybower,Dambusters Dam
4  Star Registered
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Glossop, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rab M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great cottage”
Reviewed May 7, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The cottage is perfect to use as a base for walks in the Peak District. It has off-street parking but it is only a 10 minute walk from Hadfield train station. The owner, Pat, greeted us on arrival and gave us a thorough run through of the house, which was spotless and perfect for our needs. The cottage has a lovely well-tended garden at the back with a nice seating area for relaxing after a day out.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2018
Hi thank you so much for your thoughtful review,and your time.Best Wishes.Pat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culture54...
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 2, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Given a warm welcome by the owner on arrival. Very clean and well equipped property with lovely lawned garden. Situated close to local walks along the Longdendale Trail and convenient for the Peak District and Manchester.. Off road parking at the property and altogether an excellent place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2018
Thank you so much for taking time to give me a lovely review, it really matters.Best Wishes. Pat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma F
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed April 3, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We have just got back from a 2 nights break at Burnswark cottage, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the cottage is so clean & has everything we needed, the garden is lovely & huge our dog really enjoyed playing in it! We had such a warm welcome from pat. The cottage is close to some lovely walks with spectacular scenery! We had a lovely meal at the spinners arms which is just down the road & was dog friendly. We really enjoyed our 2 day break & will definitely visit Burnswark cottage again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2018
Hi Emma, most grateful for your review and taking time,glad you enjoyed your break with George. Hope to see you all again.Pat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flattiesk...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday at burnswark in the dark peak region Derbyshire.”
Reviewed March 28, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Had the most relaxing comfortable and enjoyable weeks holiday in this beautiful cottage. Cleanliness was second to none, with everything of a high standard that you would need for your stay. The owner has thought of everything right down to supplies of tea biscuits and milk for your arrival. This cottage easily achieves its 4 star rating. The cottage is ideally situated for local walks, and the pub the peels arms in padfield is an excellent dog and kid friendly place with an excellent menu. Don’t miss their Sunday roasts. Our thanks to the lovely owner pat, whose welcoming spiel covers everything. We would return without hesitation. Manor park is also well worth a visit as that is also dog and kid friendly. Take your bowls if you are a crown green bowler.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2018
Thank you so very much for such a thoughtful review,thank you too for respecting my cottage and leaving it so clean.I really appreciate your time and effort in doing the review,such lovely guests.Pat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue S
Potters Bar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable bungalow”
Reviewed February 28, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Burnswark Cottage. A very warm welcome from Pat and we found the bungalow was very warm and cosy, too, which was great as the weather was unusually cold. The bungalow is clean and comfortable and, even though it is in a residential street, is very quiet. Beautiful countryside on the doorstep and lots of interesting places to visit - Castleton and the "Blue John" caverns, East Lancs Steam Railway, Quarry Bank Mill, Wentworth Woodhouse, Lyme Park and the National Coal Mining Museum (to name but a few). With shops, pubs and cafes within walking distance, this is a ideal place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2018
Hi Sue, I am most grateful for your lovely constructive review. Many thanks..Pat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect base to explore the peaks”
Reviewed February 25, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The property was lovely – well situated, clean, spacious and had everything we needed. The owner met us personally and could not have done more to welcome us.

There was complimentary teas/coffee/biscuits, Wi-Fi, TV and a selection of dvds/books.

The town is small, but offered everything we needed. We came by train and it is only a short walk from the station.

The property is perfectly situated if you want to go walking like we did, with easy access to the Longdendale Trail.

It was February so didn't make use of it, but there is a large garden which is very well maintained.

We would recommend this property to anyone and would love to go back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2018
HI, thank you for your lovely review, I am most grateful for you taking the time.Pat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Relax7453...
1 review
“Lovely dog-friendly cottage”
Reviewed January 15, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We really enjoyed our recent stay and would love to visit again. Great location near to the countryside, and also convenient to the Manchester motorways. Large back garden and wooden floors inside which were ideal for our pets. Very friendly and helpful hostess.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2018
Thank you sooo much for your lovely review, it really matters.Pat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing