We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, comfortable, with breakfast included we found it good value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
George Hotel Glossop
Ranked #10 of 11 Glossop B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We have stayed at the George twice now and by coincidence had the same room both times. Our room was quite small but very comfortable with a decent supply of tea and coffee sachets. Although at the front of the hotel, on a fairly major road, opposite the railway station, our room was quiet and had proper blackout curtains. Both times we came back to the hotel after the pub downatiars had shut so we don't know if any noise would come up but I doubt it as there is a heavy and firmly closing firedoor at the top of the stairs. There is a decent breakfast included with cereals, juice, tea/coffee and either full english or "boil in the bag" type kipper fillet.
If you are happy with comfortable rather than luxurious, then I would recommend the George; Glossop is a nice little town with some good pubs and great walking country very close.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PdhGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 45 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2011

booked 2 rooms at the george as i was going to see family , checked in ok , went to room upon opening door thought it was ok for what we paid went out came back about 10.30pm to a party going on in the function room went upstairs to room opened door it was like being in the middle of the dance floor , tv didnt work ,lamps didnt work , behind the radiator was some old socks and knickers ( not ours ) bathroom was dated room was freezing with plenty of condensation on the windows ( that was our room ).
The other room which my inlaws had a musty smell to it , freezing , the cold water tap on the sink didnt work properly took ages to fill the kettle again plenty of condensation no heating . Breakfast was ok till somebody walked passed the table and stood on the dodgy floorboard making the table bounce up and down. this hotel had supposedly been refurbished ...noooo wayyyyyyy......

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Rather tired decor, rather tired town. The room was cramped and there was an unpleasant odour at the bottom of stairs/entrance to bar, not assisted, I feel, by a baby sat on the counter. Perhaps this is an old Glossop tradition. In fairness, the staff were friendly enough, and the food was acceptable. If you go up town the "Oakwood" bar seems to have been recently reburbished and serves a decent pint of Robinsons.
The other big disadvantage is there is no parking on the premises and, being opposite the train station, there was no parking in the immediate vacinity.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estragon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

On arrival we realised there was no car park so had to park on a street or the train station across the road which was abit inconvienient.
The hotel is in a good location though!

Downstairs was lovely and welcoming.
The room was very small but suited us as there was only 2 of us. The bed was very comfy good duvet and no blankets!!! Yey! Tv could do with an upgrade. WiFi was difficult to connect and my partner only managed to connect in certain area's of the room.

The bathroom was dark and dingy. Having a shower was fun it takes about 5 mins for the hot water to come through and it just trickled out no power at all i had to collect the water in my hands and wash my self. I casully looked up at the ceiling and thought what a weird affect the cieling had on closer inspection i realised there was thick black cobwebs ...nice! An extra long feather duster would do the trick!

We was going out for a friends birthday and found the fact you was given a code to get back in useful! So no curfews.

Breakfast was the BEST i have had in a long while at a hotel! It was hot and cooked to perfection. The staff was extremley friendly and welcoming. Still feel its not worth £60.00 a night. However you could do ALOT worse!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee_Matthewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

very disappointed with room, dark & dingy had a musky smell, in desperate need of refurbishment very dated and old fashioned, definately not worth £60 per night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leelouLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed here on a wet Monday night in July. Monday is not the best night to stop in Glossop, as a lot of the pubs and all the restaurents are shut.
The George has an excellent situation, in the centre of Glossop. It has been recently renovated, so downstairs is light and airey, if a bit bland.
Our bedroom had also been newly renovated, and was a decent size, with very comfortable sofa and table. Unfortunately, it was dominated by pine 4 poster bed, which made the room appear smaller than it was. The new bathroom was spacious, functional and clean. Actually, the whole pub seemed clean and cared for.
The meal we had that night was OK pub food, but breakfast next morning was delicious and very well presented.
I thought the George was excellent value at £60 a room, and found the staff very helpful, especially in dealing with 2 wet cyclists and helping us store our bikes safely.
Free WiFi in the rooms was an added bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank optom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

The rooms are very expensive considering the quality or lack of. There was no hot water and so we were unable to have a shower. The bedside table was falling to pieces. very shabby

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cralt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glossop hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
468 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Queens Arms Country Inn
Queens Arms Country Inn
#6 of 11 in Glossop
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Woodlands
The Woodlands
#1 of 11 in Glossop
128 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House
0.1 mi away
Peakdale Lodge
Peakdale Lodge
#1 of 2 in Glossop
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel Glossop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel Glossop

Address: 34 Norfolk Street, Glossop SK13 7QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glossop
Price Range: $42 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel Glossop 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently The George Hotel Glossop is currently Closed under the previous business operators. The George Hotel is currently owned and managed by Punch Taverns ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your George Hotel Glossop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Glossop United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing