We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grouse pub”
Review of The Grouse Inn - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Grouse Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Grouse pub”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We read reviews before visiting. Very disappointed in our evening meals fish and chips bland even though chips were home made were warm and soggy. Chicken and bacon salad , chicken was tough and not very palatable . Staff very friendly and polite, would visit again but not for food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fatbob99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
“top family pub.”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

very friendly staff and the food is always great. cant do enough to help and make everyone feel welcome. the kids love it as the animal section outside is a real draw. the beer is always good and the local ales always go down well..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank huntsman06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great afternoons!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We visit every Sunday especially and maybe other days too there's always myself, my husband and our 2 children, the landlord and landlady were very friendly and welcoming as we're staff! Very polite. Food was great and good for value as we're the beer on the hand pumps, very traditional great pub with good features and views. There's also a small animal farm and park for the children and seating at the front and rear great in the summer, the kids are also given the opportunity to feed the animals! Fantastic pub, staff and landlord/landlady, highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janettejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very average food and service. When I visited the food I ordered, liver with onions, was OK but had no onions in it!!!!!!
The rest of the food we ordered was passable but not brilliant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank andymortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Proper pub with potential but disappointed by the food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Grouse has lovely views and old fashioned character - Toby jugs, not been tarted up with a loss of traditional soul like so many pubs. The staff were friendly. However, despite being reasonable value our roasts were disappointing and the chicken poorly presented (I thought it was thighs at first but no, lumps of breast). There was no Yorkshire pud & when we asked for them they turned up burnt - even I struggle to do that with ready made Yorkshire puds! We weren't offered any sauces (although bizarrely were provided with vinegar!). The other tables hadn't been cleaned. A shame as with a bit of effort it could have been a real find and become a regular haunt after a Sunday walk.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel_Minx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grouse Inn also viewed

Tintwistle, Glossop
Glossop, Derbyshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing