We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional find”
Review of The Woodlands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woodlands
Ranked #1 of 11 Glossop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This was an exceptional find. Excellent and well-appointed and spotless bedroom and spacious bathroom (with both a bath and a shower and enough room for a small party). First rate sitting room downstairs well heated (usually in B&Bs these are very much an afterthought but here there was a real encouragement to use). Splendid freshly cooked breakfast. Free Wi-Fi, free Parking and a very pleasant welcome. Although in the region on business it more than met all of my needs and was v accessible for me into Stockport and Manchester. Really rather splendid and such a pleasure. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theocsbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 128 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed at the Woodlands as a peaceful getaway for the two of us. We found the welcome to be very warm and hospitable. The room was a delight; clean, fresh and extremely comfortable. We very much enjoyed the home made cakes and coffee on arrival and a delicious breakfast. We would happily return again. A beautiful experience.

Room Tip: We chose the deluxe room. Well worth the £5 more for a spacious bathroom and kingsize bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The couple that runs Woodlands are absolutly fantastic. They treated us in a very kind and friendly way, we felt like family. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. We will go again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayunda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed for three nights whilst visiting family. Judy and Brian were very welcoming, our bedroom was spotless, with lovely views, breakfast was all that one might wish for, and Sunday lunch in the Conservatory is not to be missed. A quiet little corner of the world but ideal as a stepping off point for either the Derbyshire countryside or for the attractions in Manchester and surround. All in all a gem and we would happily recommend.

Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I travel regularly on business and have tried most of the hotels in and around Manchester & Stockport. without a doubt The woodlands is my new favourite. The rooms are all beautifully decorated and supremely comfortable with lovely little touches to make you feel right at home. Brain and Judy are perfect hosts - you are treated as a friend as well as a guest and absolutely nothing is too much trouble. I have no hesitation in recommending This place as the perfect to stay when away from home and I'll certainly be back with the family. What a hidden gem!!! Ozzie

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oljl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

After a long drive we were welcomed by our very attentive hosts, Brian & Judy. We were shown to our lovely rooms with amazing views of the surrounding countryside. We were treated to a delicious complimentary afternoon tea in the conservatory/Tea Room, which had just been decorated with very tasteful Christmas decorations.
We cannot wait to visit our family in the North so that we can once again return to Woodlands.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank DeeBeeSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I just returned with two friends from a three night stay at Woodlands. The place is well known for having one of the best tearooms in the area, but it also offers a B+B service. We were lucky to experience both. The place is really charming, with very comfortable and clean rooms with a lot of attention to detail. The breakfast was the best I've had in a B+B: the selection is very large and the full English uses fantastic ingredients and is a total joy. I also got to sample some Bakewell tart, which is the best I've ever had. Most importantly, the owners are really lovely, and couldn't do enough to make our stay fantastic. I thoroughly recommend this hidden gem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
470 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Windy Harbour Farm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Queens Arms Country Inn
Queens Arms Country Inn
#6 of 11 in Glossop
83 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House
23.9 mi away
Deeley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodlands

Address: Woodlands Woodseats Lane | Charlesworth, Glossop SK13 5DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glossop
Price Range: $103 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House with Tea Rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Woodlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodlands Glossop, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing