We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, well worth a visit.”
Review of Spinners Arms

Spinners Arms
Ranked #47 of 83 Restaurants in Glossop
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hollingworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, well worth a visit.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The pub has been recently re-modelled, and looks great. The food was tasty, reasonably priced and large potions.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J1M808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    8
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bergamo, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcoming, would come back”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Lovely welcome and surroundings inside and out. Good, simple food, smoked salmon and burger. Homemade chips amazing. Look forward to coming again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank andrea a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pub in Hadfield by a long shot.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

The title says it all. Friendly owners, great food, San Miguel on draft, no loud music of Sky Sports and it doesn't feel like you've walked into the pub from American Werewolf in London. Came in here 7 years ago and it was a nasty dump - never came back again till it re-opened a few months back with a refurb and new owners and what a transformation! Recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Proper chips!!! Fantastic Food”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This place is a must, it came reccommended from other locals and really its worth a visit if you like 'proper chips!!!' The gammon i had was massive and cooked to perfection and my partner had the homemade fish pie which was lovely. The service was great to say it was busy and the young chap serving and working the bar was very professional and welcoming too! The prices are totally reasonable, i would actually be prepared to pay more

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daniellecoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Didn't feel welcome”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We are local to Hadfield and were looking forward to trying the food here as had heard good things about it. Although we hadn't booked we turned up with our two children at 6:30pm on Monday 27th May. We weren't welcomed nor did the barmaid even say hello to us. She then explained we would have to wait 15 mins for a table. At the time we could see at least two empty tables. She did not explain where we should wait and served us drinks with no pleasantries, pleases or thank you's or conversation. After waiting 25 minutes in the bar area we asked if our table would be ready. The lady said we could pick a seat in the restaurant but it would be another 20mins before our food order could be taken. She was so indifferent to our presence that we felt that she really could not be bothered with us. We therefore left and ate elsewhere. We were thoroughly disapointed with the poor service and frankly rude attitude of the barmaid. We didn't even get chance to sample the food, which we were more than prepared to wait for!! If this lady is not the owner I feel its important that the owner is aware of the poor customer service we received and the subsequent loss of business because of this.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Sallmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spinners Arms also viewed

Tintwistle, Glossop
Glossop, Derbyshire
 
Glossop, Derbyshire
 

Been to Spinners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing