We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent”
Review of Travelodge Glossop

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Glossop
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glossop
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield Uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

No hairdryers in room. Only one bath towel between 2. Advised later that both are available on request. Last one I stayed in had both. Prior to that just hairdryer missing
I think both should be in the rooms and such cutbacks mean that I won't use Travelodge in future unless forced. I don't want to shower and discover that I should have remembered to ask for extra items at the desk.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Moirette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    143
    39
    12
    8
See reviews for
120
187
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This Travelodge is not directly linked to a pub restaurant. The Wetherspoons nearby is ok, but please visit the following cafe/chip shop for excellent value, and excellent food!

Walk out of the hotel, and turn left on the main road for Glossop Cafeteria....just a short walk up Victoria Street. Excellent breakfasts!

If you fancy some top-notch fish and chips: walk or drive up Victoria Street. Right next to the the Crown Inn, on the right-hand side on the road, is a really excellent chippy. Grease-free chips and fish....the best I have tasted in a long time! Don't visit the chippy lower down Victoria Street, keep going up the hill, round the bend.

In conclusion, much better than Wetherspoons!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptrdhrty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Being a Travelodge one would expect basic clean accommodation, which it was. Room was a bit warm but bear in mind it was a hot weekend when we visited. The room we had overlooked the stream at the back so we didn't have to put up with any noise from the Wetherspoons down below. I would definitely stay here again and request a similar room at the back overlooking the stream.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This Lodge is situated just off Glossop High Street & ideal for shopping. The car park has to be vacated by 10am each day but there is a nearby long stay car park at £2.20 per day. Room was quite warm but a fan was provided.
We were on the 2nd floor above the entrance but had no problem with noise over the 4 nights we stayed even with the window open.
Marks & Spencer Food store, Dominoes and Wetherspoons pub all in same complex along with Pico Lounge so plenty of choice for food and drinks.
Reception staff were very informative and helpful.
Would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear overlooking the river would probably we quieter. Our room was not large (but adeq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This Travelodge is great in terms of location, room quality and service. However, choose your room VERY carefully. There are several retail outlets and a pub and bar below and around this hotel, and the nature of the surroundings - i.e. a mill-yard - amplify the noise of various vans unloading goods, and recycling wagons tipping vast amounts of glass bottles from 6.00am onwards! We were woken up by dustbin wagons, recycling wagons, delivery vans, and what sounded like metal piping being dropped from a great height from 6.00am every day...the latter probably wasn't such, but the echoey nature of the yard plays tricks with a very tired mind! Plus weekend nights are interesting, due to the close proximity of two bars.....drunken young women were falling about outside the hotel, shouting loudly after 11.30pm one night, and stunt cyclists were gathering outside, screeching their brakes. BUT don't let these down-sides put you off; choose a room overlooking the river, and you will sleep very well on the comfy beds! p.s. Wi-Fi is expensive and unreliable, due to the thick mill walls.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouLou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Pros: great helpful customer service.
Walking distance to restaurants, pubs, cafes and shops.
Could leave well behaved dog in the room so I could eat out.
Room was nicely refurbished and clean.
Comfy bed and good towels.
Excellent location for those visiting the Peak District.

Not perfect...: not enough toiletries or towels for two people (i'm sure easily remedied at reception).
Parking restricted between 10am and 4pm (2 hr not return restriction, but with 2 hr free in between). For us not a problem because we were out the whole day and we were also told Glossop's Market car park across the road is free on Sundays.
Room overlooking car park was noisy due to people coming out from pub and shops nearby (we stayed on Saturday eve).
Room was a bit hot, and it did not help we could not open the windows due to noise, so a fan or air con would have been much appreciated.
Shower water pressure wasn't great, but enough to wash long hair. No bath in the room (which we preferred), but I wish the shower hose was detachable (for rinsing dog, boots, etc. if needed).
Not enough storage space (only 1 small shelf, small desk and no bedside table). These we missed...

Conclusion: we are definitely going back!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank vanl2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is in the centre of Glossop, near plenty of amenities. It's clean and reasonably priced. They forgot to leave me any soap on my 1st day, but brought it on the 2nd. Parking isn't that convenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank MegBrist0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
1.0 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
12.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,618 reviews
12.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,043 reviews
6.3 mi away
Barton Villa
Barton Villa
#1 of 1 in Dukinfield
102 reviews
19.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Glossop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Glossop

Property: Travelodge Glossop
Address: Victoria Street, Glossop SK13 8HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glossop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Glossop 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Glossop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Glossop United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing