We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cosy countryside hotel with friendly staff and great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glossop
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2010

I'm very surprised by the extremely mixed reviews that the Wind in the Willows has received. Having stayed here over a dozen times while visiting family nearby I've always felt very welcome and at home here. I never realised what a marmite effect the hotel seems to have on people!
I think that the problem must be people's expectations...this is not a large contemporary hotel. The Wind in the Willows is a Victorian house and its decor and furniture match the style of the building. If you want to stay in a small, quiet countryside hotel surrounded by beautiful views of Derbyshire with fantastic food and staff and a friendly, relaxing atmosphere then I would fully recommend it. Having travelled around the world and stayed in many large generic hotels, I really enjoy the character of the Wind in the Willows and look forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahG86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 141 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2010

Without doubt, THE place to 'chill out' from the stresses and strains of life ! It is just pure escapism ! The hospitality provided by Ian and Alison was worthy of particular commendation and the ambience of the hotel generally was, without doubt , thoroughly enjoyable. In the dining room we both chose what was to prove the best steak we have eaten for a long, long time washed down by an exquisite Chilean red ! Eagerly looking forward to our next visit !

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stalybridgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Ian and Allison are warm, engaging hosts. They made us a special breakfast after an all-night flight, provided us with directions to attractions in the area, and generally made us feel welcome. The B&B feels like a well lived-in and well-loved home. It is not fancy or trendy; it is just a relaxing comfortable place to be.

The Wi-Fi comes and goes in this rural setting and the water pressure on the top floor is not luxury hotel standard but these were very small inconveniences in light of the totally captivating nature of their home--including bleating sheep in the nearby meadow.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan.fraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

The hotel is spotlessly clean throughout. We stayed in the 'Toad Hall' room which was spacious, nicely furnished in Victorian style and had wonderful views. The only thing to let it down was that the towels and flannels were not changed during our stay, which we have never experienced anywhere before!! English breakfast was cooked to order by the owner and as previous reviews mention everything was freshly delivered to the table. Although the front garden is well kept and beautifully laid to lawn and shrubs, the patio seating area is tatty with old chairs and discarded plant pots which was such a shame as the weather was glorious during our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Premierely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

What you see is what you get with the Wind in the Willows, not too many rooms so it is quiet, giving us the chance to relax. . We had pre-booked for dinner and were in fact the only ones eating in that evening. Whilst you could think this awkward, the owners gave us perfect service and space, meaning we had a great evening with lovely food and great wine in an exclusive setting.

The room was light, well presented and very comfortable.

Breakfast was superb, a good start to our next day.

We stayed having completed the first day walking the Pennine way. From Tripadvisor this looked by far the nicest hotel within reach of the end of this stage of the walk. The owners assisted prior to our with finding a taxi which could collect us from the roadside by Torside reservoir and bring us to the hotel for a reasonable fee! We also ensured when booking that we got a room with a bath rather than shower. After a hard days walk this level of helpfulness and customer service was very appreciated, and did not drop the whole time we were at the hotel.

I have been using trip advisor for several years now to plan family trips and social cycle tours with friends. I have always found the reviews helpful in finding excellent accommodation. After all this time using the site this is the first time I have felt the need to place a review. I hope that anyone that books a stay here after reading this and the other very positive reviews on the Wind in the Willows enjoys their time there as much as we did.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fair127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

This hotel is located on the edge of the peak district in Yorkshire with wonderful views. I was met by the owner Ian Wilkinson and shown personally to my room which was very spacious, homely, with flat screeen TV and well decorated. A very comfortable double bed with many cushions and pillows.
Before dinner you are invited to have drinks in the sitting room which has a very large wardrobe which has been converted in to a drinks cupboard.
The three course dinner was personally cooked by the owner to a high standard.
A real find and I will certainly return when I am next in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eloflondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We recently travelled to Glossop for a gathering and wanting a bit of something more "Top Notch" we wend to WitW to treat ourselves. It is right at the base of the notoriously dangerous Snake Pass, and whilst unloading heard a motorcyclist crash and horrible screams as we unpacked. Little did we know that would start the exercise.

The hotel's downstairs is pretty well kept, although a bit tatty (old phones, wearing furniture, tatty lamps) so we thought we'd be OK. Upon going to our rooms, it appeared we'd gone to a 30 years since last decorated Miss Marples type of place. Whilst reasonably large rooms, no effort other than LCD TV's is in evidence. The beds in our group's views were so old they should all be tossed out (4'6") and replaced with king-sized beds given the exorbitant price of £155/night.

We did not have evening meal there, but brekkie was so-so. One member of our group suffered "tourista" for the next 2 days, but we can not for sure attribute that to the venue 100%.

For the owners, you need to look no further than to realise if folks are going to pay 2x - 3x market rates in a small town, you'd be well advised to update your facility to make it worth the stay.

We'll go to somewhere else in the future, as we're world-travellers and know what £155 should be -- it's not at WitW....sadly.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S6blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
12.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
12.8 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,135 reviews
21.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
446 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,819 reviews
18.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel

Address: Derbyshire Level | off Sheffield Road, Glossop SK13 7PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glossop
Price Range: $131 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wind In The Willows Country House Hotel Glossop, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing