We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glossop
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Peaceful Setting”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend break at this hotel.

On the positive side, it is in a lovely, peaceful setting and has a relaxing atmosphere. The breakfast was very tasty and well cooked. We had the evening meal on first night which was well cooked and enjoyable. The owner was very polite and unobstrusive and the service was excellent. We enjoyed drinks before and after dinner in the very comfortable drawing room and there was a good selection of drinks.. We were a group of four female friends and had booked two twin rooms. The bedrooms were very clean and comfortable with en-suite shower [no bath] The beds were comfortable and we enjoyed looking out of the window at the countryside and listening to the birds signing while lying in bed!

A couple of slightly negative aspects were the lack of biscuits/water in the room. We had arrived after a long journey [caused by many delays on the M1] and were looking forward to a drink and biscuit before unpacking and getting ready for dinner. One of the party doesn't drink hot drinks, so bottled water woud have been nice, although there were adequate tea/coffee supplies. There was no shower gel provided, although there were sachets of soap/shampoo/shoe shine. For the price of the hotel, we had expected the above to be included.

Overall, we had a great weekend and were well looked after.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCB27Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    33
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
72
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

This family owned and run hotel is quaint and peaceful with a lovely atmosphere. The owners offered exemplary service and everything we required was provided. Breakfast really delicious and dinner had tasty and interesting choices. Our bedroom was more old fahioned than the rooms shown on the website and we would of liked to see information and literature on the hotel and local restaurants, pubs etc in the room. Absolutely spotless, comfy
with a wonderful view. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valreyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Clean, comfortable, good breakfast. Nice setting, friendly hosts. If it had not been so expensive we would have given it a higher rating. However it did feel expensive for what was provided.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently when we were in the final stages of clearing my late father's house in Glossop. It had been a busy and stressful period and we therefore needed somewhere quiet and restful - the Wind in the Willows proved absolutely ideal. It is on a country lane opposite the golf course, although quite close to local amenities, including a bus route and a nice pub. It therefore combines the advantages of a town and a country hotel. There is ample parking too.We stayed in the delightful Erika Louise room, also enjoying aperitifs in the lounge with its spectacular drinks cabinet and, on a particularly warm evening, pre and post dinner libations on the lawn. Excellent meals, including one of the best English breakfasts I have ever eaten in a hotel.

We felt the owners could afford to 'blow their own trumpets' more about the merits of this hotel and of the town of Glossop. I grew up in Glossop so perhaps am biased but I do believe it is an under-rated place, surrounded by spectacular countryside and with some excellent local shops, including the award-winning Mettricks the butchers (from whom I believe the hotel source much of their meat- why do they not make more of local sourcing?) As I know the town, I also know about local walks but more information about these in the hotel would have been nice (maybe a guest folder in the room with maps etc).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We recently stayed at this delightful country house hotel, from the welcome on arrival to the wonderful breakfast everything was just perfect. We stayed in the Erika Louise room which was beautifully furnished and had a bathroom with a roll top bath. This hotel ticked all the boxes for us, the attention to detail was excellent and the owners make sure that your stay is memorable it was particularly nice to have an early evening drink in the elegant lounge, we were visiting friends locally so did not have dinner although the menu looked delicious. Many thanks to Ian and Alison for making our stay so perfect.
We cannot wait to return and sample the delights of Wind in the Willows again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynnieWetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

While walking the Pennine Way we stayed one night in a superiour room at the Wind in the Willows. A great cross between a B&B/Hotel and country house. The rooms were dates in the positive sense of the word. For non Brits this is great. The couple running the Hotel made us feel very welcome and if it had not been for the next day walking we would have stayed longer.

Last but not least: a great breakfast

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walker1969too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I cant recommend this hotel highly enough, the location is perfect for relaxing after a busy day, my room was spacious and extremely comfortable, the food is delicious!...it really is a hidden gem!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
12.4 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Glossop
Travelodge Glossop
#1 of 2 in Glossop
413 reviews
18.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,041 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,608 reviews
21.2 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel

Property: Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
Address: Derbyshire Level | off Sheffield Road, Glossop SK13 7PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glossop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wind In The Willows Country House Hotel Glossop, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing