We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”
Review of The Wren's Nest

The Wren's Nest
Ranked #30 of 81 Restaurants in Glossop
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent carvery, staff very good and excellent value for money, the carvers always generous with the meat and the vegetables are fresh and plentiful.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ozzie1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    55
    49
    15
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Me my husband and daughter come here every couple of months as a treat, we love the place, what can i say drinks are great, food is great and the staff are more than helpful.
The carvery is delicious I always have to have the gammon as it is always cooked to perfection. My daughter always has the kids carvery with sausages she always clears her plate, and my husband he always piles his plate up and cleans the plate off. Great place to relax after long shopping trips in glossop town center. Will be back again soon :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“poor breakfast”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

i have read the review about a "poor breakfast" and as always it begs the question "DID YOU TAKE IT UP WITH THE MANAGEMENT AND IF SO WHAT DID THEY DO ABOUT IT AND IF NOT "WHY NOT" what do you expect trip advisor to do ,,,,,,it is your responsibility as a customer to complain to the management if things are not right as they are the only people who can rectify the situation.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffhulmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tragic breakfast”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Went here for breakfast on a Sunday morning. It was the worst I have ever eaten. The table hadn't been wiped from the night before, the plates were dirty and well past their best, and these things were the positives. The food was terrible with a choice of very poor sausages, bacon, beans and tomato. There were also eggs which had been out so long they had turned into rubber. If there was a national award for the worst breakfast in the UK then this place would surely be in contention for the top prize.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank getmeaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Noisy, bad food.”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I've been a few times for lunch with various groups of friends. It's about £4 a head for the carvery, or there is soup available instead. Soup takes forever to come (they bring it out to the table); the whole group of about 10 got through the carvery line and the two who'd ordered soup were still left waiting. Ordering and paying (at the bar, standing in a queue waiting) also takes forever. The vegetables were alright, cooked to death like usual in Britain. The meat given was scant, though you can have up to three kinds; it's drier than a bone, though, so not worth it. Kids run around screaming their heads off, because the place attracts a lot of families. The last time we tried to go, it turned out to be half term, so there actually were no empty tables. Thank heavens, we found a nice pub to eat at instead. Think I'll give the lunches that wind up at this carvery a miss from now on.

Beware, the low price (which creeps up over the years, of course) advertised on the sign out front only applies Monday - Saturday. Sunday's price is markedly higher, so find out before you commit to eating there if you want to pay it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernMyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wren's Nest also viewed

Glossop, Derbyshire
Glossop, Derbyshire
 
Glossop, Derbyshire
Glossop, Derbyshire
 
Glossop, Derbyshire
Glossop, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Wren's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing