We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“recommend this friendly pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Peels Arms

The Peels Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glossop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Peels Arms
Ranked #10 of 12 Glossop B&B and Inns
glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“recommend this friendly pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

Travelled down to the Peak District with my wife and two friends stopping in the Peels for 3 nights whilst visiting the local Brass Band contest in Saddleworth. We arrived just before 3pm and introduced ourselves at the bar. After a plate of sandwiches and drinks, including a well kept real ale, we went up to the rooms. We had booked the ensuite.. small room but perfectly adequate; my pals Dougie and Lesley had the room next door.. same size as our own with a shower... their toilet, and the bathroom, was down the corridor. Rooms very clean and perfectly fine... only wee note.. beds a little hard... Dougie said same... slept well enough though. Had a walk round the hills in the afternoon.. beautiful.. and returned for a delicious evening meal before a pint or two and bed. Breakfast early the next morning was excellent. During all the meals we were well attended by the landlady Helen and Phil, who were both very warm and friendly, as were the rest of the staff. The 'locals' were very inclusive and we had a good chat on our last night which turned out to be Helen's birthday.
On leaving I mentioned that I would leave a review. Helen was very grateful and mentioned that she always did her best to maintain a high standard and that the staff had been upset at previous comments made. I can't make a judgement on what has gone before... I can only say that we all agreed that we would return, if in the area, to a well run, and a very friendly little pub..... Thanks again Geoff, Mags, Dougie & Lesley.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unclespoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We have only put in a stay date in order to get this review uploaded, we have not stayed in this establishment .Our debit cards were not accepted by their outdated systems and it took them two whole days to let us know. We agreed to send a cheque but later but later that day after the initial call letting us know our cards hadn't been accepted we received another call telling us they had booked the room with someone else who as they said 'had already paid'. I find this to be totaly slapdash and unprofessional and think that we probably had a lucky escape. After such a waste of time we managed to book elsewhere and needless to say our cards were accepted without any problem. After this experience We certainly wouldn't patronise this establishment in any way.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joeq51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

Don't make a booking with them - they'll let you down.
I telephoned at 9 pm on Monday evening to book a cream tea fora group of 10 people the following day. The booking was accepted. When I arrived the following day with a group of 10 people expecting a cream tea the place wasn't even bloody open.
The person that answered the door to me, after I,d stood there knocking, was totally disinterested and useless.
Will never go there again

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank millera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jake2011, Owner at The Peels Arms, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
We did try to explain to this gentleman that there had been a break down in communication, and did leave 2 messages for him to confirm his booking.We have always closed midweek between 3 and 5 pm. When we had no return call we assumed they were not coming. We did offer him sandwiches and cakes but he insisted it was cream teas or nothing. We pride ourselves on excellent service and won best pub of the year 2010 , it is unlikely that the hundreds of customers who voted for us would agree with this review.We did offer to accomadate the party but only recieved an angry response. We do appologise for any inconvienience caused by this mix up but assure you this has never happened before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

Stayed in a twin room with a friend while cycling the Transpennine Trail. The owner was very helpful in sorting us out with some storage space for the bikes and advising us on the best way to get back on the Trail the next morning.

The room itself was somewhat small, although that was not unexpected given the nature and age of the building. The twin room had no toilet or shower facilities - just a washbasin. Shared bathroom facilities are down the corridor. The double rooms both have showers and the larger double also has en-suite facilities. As there are only two rooms that would need to make use of the shared bathroom I can't imagine it would ever get too busy! Our twin room cost just £50 B&B.

On the night we stayed we were the only guests and we were made welcome to use the shower in the double room over the corridor from us rather than having to use the bathroom further down the hall.

The bar downstairs is very nice - spacious, cosy and plenty of proper real ale. There is also a dining room for more formal eating but we ate in the bar. The food was excellent - rump steak cooked just as ordered with plenty of fat chips and a delicious whisky and stilton sauce from the specials board.

Breakfast in the morning was excellent, a nice large full English with all the trimmings. Plenty of cereals, toast, fruit were also available.

Padfield itself is an interesting place, a former mill town sitting on a hill on the north-west boundary of the Peak District, near Glossop. The scenery nearby is stunning, in particular nearby Longdendale, home to a series of reservoirs built in the 19th century. The Transpennine Trail follows the route of an old railway up the valley, which is an interesting, easy route from which you can strike out on more challenging rides and walks on higher ground.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theholyllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glossop
1.9 mi away
Wind in the Willows Country House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Hyde) Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Bulls Head Public House, Restaurant & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hikers & Bikers B&B
#12 of 12 in Glossop
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
1.1 mi away
Queens Arms Country Inn
Queens Arms Country Inn
#5 of 12 in Glossop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Windy Harbour Farm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peels Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peels Arms

Property: The Peels Arms
Address: Temple Street | Padfield, Glossop SK13 1EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Glossop
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Glossop
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Peels Arms Hotel Glossop
The Peels Arms Glossop, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing