We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Birds Nest Cottage Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Glossop(Glossop)(Great Value!)
$38
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    $67
    PremierInn.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    $51
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Barton Villa(Dukinfield)
    $73
    Hotwire.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    The Broadoak Hotel(Ashton-under-Lyne)
    $107
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $55
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $197
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    $49
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (266)
    Filter reviews
    266 results
    Traveler rating
    248
    16
    2
    0
    0
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    248
    16
    2
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsstream runningon arrivalwarm welcomefull englishwent out of her waycakebeautiful gardenpeak districtfront of the housestay there againhigh standardfeel very welcomea wonderful staypot of teagreat value for moneylyndaaccommodation
    Filter
    Updating list...
    173 - 178 of 266 reviews
    Reviewed September 5, 2012

    My friend and I stayed over the August Bank Holiday and we were in a twin room. Extremely good value, comfortable, clean and with excellent breakfast choice. The hosts were extremely helpful and friendly. Thoroughly recommended.

    • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank S S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 4, 2012

    We normally stay at our son-in-law's and daughter's home in Glossop but for family reasons we stayed at Birds Nest Cottage GH on this occasion. The accommodation was very good, the hosts were helpful and friendly, and the cuisine was excellent - three course breakfast and coffee. Not only that but a supply of fruit muffins was available in the lounge in case you felt peckish before going to bed! Idyllic garden with rushing brook. We believe the price to very fair, too. Only one caveat - stairs may prove tricky for the elderly or disabled if they have have problems in that area as this is a 19th century cottage with a staircase to match. For us, we will certainly come back again when need arises.

    • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank TerryDoris
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 30, 2012

    Cosy, homely and pleasant B&B within striking distance of Manchester and near to lovely rolling hills. Comfortable double room with wi fi access, friendly and helpful owner. Good choice of breakfast. Much nicer than budget hotels, and less £££ too.

    • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank roathbuoy
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    LyndaLedwith, Owner at Birds Nest Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

    Thank you for taking the time and trouble to place a review, we very much appreciate your comments nd hope to see you again in the future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 24, 2012

    I have stayed at Birds Nest Cottage twice now and will definitely do so again. Lynda provides really genuine hospitality, fantastic vegan food and a clean, quiet and very comfortable place to stay at really good value for money. The garden is divine and with massages and alternative therapies available on-site what more could you as for??!!

    Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    Thank Kay I
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 23, 2012

    We have stayed at Bird's Nest on several occasions. It's excellent.A warm welcome awaits from Lynda. The rooms are cosy and very comfortable with an excellent choice of substantial breakfast which will set you up for the rest of the day. This recommendation comes with absolutely no reservations

    • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Frank C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews