We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang on.”
Review of Blenheim House

Blenheim House
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Etwall
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 'Excellent atmosphere, food, service and surroundings' - that is the feedback we get from our guests and we are proud of it. Call in for a morning coffee and tea-cakes, enjoy a bottle of wine and sharing platter with friends or book a romantic dinner with someone special in a cosy corner of the restaurant. We offer great food and great service and a great experience in relaxed, calm and quirky surroundings.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bang on.”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We'd visited here a few times just for drinks, and found the place warm and welcoming. Having seen the nice looking meals going out and the lovely ambience of the restaurant we decided to book for a litlle celebration meal. Had an absolutely faultless evening, from the genuinely pleased to see you greeting when we arrived until we had finished our meals and it was home time. We opted to go straight for a main course, I chose the pork, my better half opting for chicken. Both of the meals were outstanding, fabulous mix of flavours complimenting each other and cooked to perfection. We had a sharing pudding, assiete I think it was called and this too was nothing short of spectacular. Great choice of drinks too, fine cask ale for me, my partner having the Prosecco which is available by the glass. Service was with a smile and from very friendly, caring people. A superb evening all round. As a footnote, we visited a week later and sat in the bar area and ordered from the snack menu and that was first class too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidW97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helga R, Owner at Blenheim House, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Good afternoon and many thanks for the 'Bang On' review of the Blenheim House, we are very happy that you enjoyed both the restaurant and bar lounge food. With our young and enthusiastic team we endeavour to give the all our customers a good and memorable experience of the Blenheim and although we don't get it right all the time it is always lovely to know when we do. We look forward to seeing you again, many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    44
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Incredible experience every time”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a small but lovely establishment. It has a shabby chic elegance that is totally unpretentious. This isn't the cheapest pub but the quality is outstanding. There are two defined dining areas - the more formal dining room and the bar area. The food and service are great in both but I prefer the bar side as it feels more cosy and relaxed. If you are a fan of pizza this is the place for you. They serve up the largest and tastiest pizzas you will ever have. The owner and his son are so friendly and obliging nothing is too much trouble. This is without a doubt my favourite pub in Derbyshire.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeamGB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helga R, Owner at Blenheim House, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Many thanks for the really great review of the Blenheim House; you have put into words what we are trying to create - a formal dining area in the restaurant where you can have a romantic meal or a memorable event with friends and/or family or a more relaxed dining experience in the lounge and bar with one of our sharing platters or as you have tried yourself one of our great pizza's. And as for our staff, lead by Phil and James, well we do pride ourselves on a superb team who follow in the boys footsteps in the way they look after all our Blenheim visitors. Thanks again for the review and for taking the time to write it means a lot and is the best form of validation we can get.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great meal,great atmosphere”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We have not eaten at the restaurant for over a year,but decided to take friends who were staying with us.
The staff were very welcoming and did not rush us whilst we had a pre dinner drink.Menu selection was excellent and food was of high standard with everyone very pleased with their selection.Again we did not feel rushed and left the table when ready.
Staff were attentive throughout but not overbearing
Well done Blenheim house.
Have joined their frequent guest facility.
Will be eating there again in near future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helga R, Owner at Blenheim House, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Good afternoon and thanks for taking the time to write your great review of the restaurant food and staff here at the Blenheim House. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal and experience and look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wedding Lunch”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We loved it all! The food, the room, the staff, the atmosphere. .A superb place to eat, drink and relax. Beautiful!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DiBevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helga R, Owner at Blenheim House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for your review of the Blenheim House. It was a pleasure to look after you both and your guests on such a special day, many congratulations from all the Blenheim team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wedding luncheon”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A truly superb meal... absolutely beautiful!. The room, the ambiance, the staff and the food made this a really special time for us all. It definitely exceeded our expectations and I would recommend to anyone.
The private room was ideal for our party of seventeen and certainly contributed to our special day.
We want to thank everyone at Blenheim House who helped to make this a magical day.

Diane and Bill Lynch

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiBevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helga R, Owner at Blenheim House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Good afternoon Mr & Mrs Lynch, thank you for your lovely review of the Blenheim House, it was a pleasure to look after you and your guests for your wedding breakfast and we are so pleased it was an event to remember. We wish you both a very long and happy marriage and look forward to seeing you both again, many thanks once again. Phil and all the staff at the Blenheim House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blenheim House also viewed

Etwall, Derbyshire
Derby, Derbyshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to Blenheim House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing