We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holme from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holmefield Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 6 Darley Dale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
1 review
“Holme from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2009

We stayed at Holmefield in late March 2009. The owners Geoff and Kate were very friendly and willing to help when necessary, they were also accomodating of my wife's dietry requirements.
We stayed in the loft room of the converted coach house which was really well laid out, had all mod-cons and was tastefully decorated. The i-pod docking station was a nice addition to the room.

Breakfast was served in the main house and was very nice, the house is tastefully decorated in keeping with the age and period of the property.

The guesthouse is well situated for short trips into the Peak District and outlying towns and villages such as Bakewell and Matlock Bath. Chatsworth is a scenic 10mins drive away.

We would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    24
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
95
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

Just spent a weekend at the Holmefield with my family, and it was a glorious experience. We were 7 guests, and we got to share one of the family units in what was once the Coach House of the property. This is apparently a new addition to the property, but the renovation was done well and the place seemed to retain an old world quaintness blended with modern features. The 3 rooms within the unit were very comfortably and attractively decorated, each with adjoining bathrooms.

The owners of the property, Jeff and Kate, have clearly gone the extra mile to think of everything a guest could possibly need during a visit -- comfy robes, slippers, a basket full of assorted toiletries, and a DVD player. (The guest lounge is well stocked with an eclectic selection of films). Of special note is the wonderful garden that makes this place so special. It was lovely to sit on the terrace every afternoon, sip on tea and take in the views. The traditional English Breakfast every morning was also a treat. Jeff and Kate were extremely gracious and helpful throughout our stay -- always ready to give recommendations, directions, and tips that helped us make the most of our short weekend in the Peak District.

  • Liked — Value for money.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88RedBalloons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

I recently stayed at this guest house with my family and was disappointed.
The welcome was hasty and without the niceities one usually associates with a 4 star establishment. The service was patchy and I found we frequently had to ask for missing items rather than have our needs anticipated. When we turned up early for dinner (at the time given in our email) we were dispatched to the lounge to drink sherry, nothing was offered to the children. The evening meal had generous portions but was on the whole bland, the moussaka was oily and the vegetables were over cooked.
The house itself is on the A6 down a steepish and tricky driveway. The double room was spacious and with a lovely view but the twin room was disappointingly small, as were both showers.

There were a few other irritations but I think you get the drift.
On the positive side it is close to Chatsworth and had late availability.

  • Liked — view from room
  • Disliked — the service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FionaWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmefieldguesthouse, owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 21, 2008
We work hard to achieve and regain year after year our 'highly recommended' award from the AA, we are sorry that these guests were not satisfied but feel that everything was offerred to them wolrthy of our rating including guest robes, slippers, toiletries, dvd's. mineral watewr, tea/fresh coffee making facxilities. Most guests appreciate being offfered a pre-dinner complimentary drink and our evening meals carry a further award from the AA reflecting our imaginative menu and use of local produce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2008

Use of clever photography made us think that this guest house was in the country...was in fact on a busy main road. After an initial mix up with what room we had booked(we booked a double) We settled on the family room. This was very clean, a bit small for anymore than two though, not enough hanging space in the wardrobe, and no space to put our wash bags in the bathroom... bit annoying having them on the floor, bath mat very slippy...did infact fall on this. The evening meal and breakfast were both very nice. Overall this is ok for a weekend break but no longer.

  • Liked — It was clean
  • Disliked — not enough hanging space
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainyday_woman2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmefieldguesthouse, owner at Holmefield Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 21, 2008
We are sorry this couple were disappointed, they did in fact get the room they booked and were asked to leave as they repeatedly smoked in their room and refused to stop citing their 'human rights'. We do vigorously enforce a no smoking policy and guests who do not wish to adhere to this are best to book accommodation elsewhere. We did not in this case enforce an extra cleaning fee which if we had realised the severity of the smoking problem we would have!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2007

My husband and I were travelling around in England and wanted to see Chatsworth House. I finally found an available room at Holmefield Guest House. They only had a twin room available, but the location was perfect and it was not too expensive, so we took it. We were not disappointed! We had been driving all day and were hungry and tired, and the hostess greeted us at the front door - very friendly - almost welcomed like we were family. Great service!
The room was decorated in a very "English" style - cute with dried flowers and even a teddy bear on my bed. The bathroom was small, but practical. The shower was a bit on the small side, but worked perfectly. The hotel was quiet (and I bet even more "noise protected" in the rooms facing the garden) and felt very "personal". Good breakfast and exellent service.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darley Dale
4.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Barringtons
Barringtons
#3 of 6 in Darley Dale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
3.5 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 51 in Matlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmefield Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmefield Guesthouse

Property: Holmefield Guesthouse
Address: Dale Road North, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Darley Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Holmefield Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmefield Guesthouse Hotel Darley Dale
Holmefield Guesthouse Darley Dale, Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing