We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a five star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holmefield Guesthouse & Holiday Cottages
Ranked #4 of 6 Darley Dale B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 20, 2013

stayed at this guest house on a groupon voucher for two nights,b and b and one evenig meal,just glad that i did not pay full price for this.The room was clean and the bed was comfey,the room we stayed in faced the road and although quiet at night traffic started at about 5-30 in the morning,breakfast could only be taken between 8-9 which on holiday is a bit early,the breakfast itself was nice but it felt a bit mean for five star,you were only given one bowl,no spares so you could only have fruit or cereal as bowl was taken away when youre breakfast arrived,with only one slice of cold brown toast(no option of white toast by the way)and only two butters onthe table,only one hot drink offerd and felt very akward asking for more toast,jam came in plastic pots again for five star you would expect little glass jars.There were no pastries which again five star would have,there was no milk out for the cereal and had to use the little drop put on the table for our tea,when i asked for more i was told not everyone had cereal so we dont put it out.The eveing meal list was given to us at breakfast even though grupon had stated that the meal was on the first night we were told quiet strictly that it was always the second night,thats so she has time to get it out the freezer to defrost,it was a sham (do not have the meal)the starters were simple ie frozen breaded mushrooms (5),the main we chose was meant to be chicken chassuer(frozen made in bulk chicken casserole,not on the bone,but overcooked breast,never seen white wine tomato concass or tarragon,served wirh over cooked mushy veg,we were told mind the bowls are hot mine was but my husbands was stone cold,there was no feed back from waiting staff,no one came to ask if it was okay they just hid in the kitchen,there was no water onthe tables to drink,not even a jug on the side,the only drinks menu given was for wine no indication if they had coke beer etc,they came round with a sweet menu ,we asked for apple and blackberry crumble,but when it arrived it was apple and raspberry,my portion was half the size of my husbands,and again even though trip adviser said it was three course in the morning when we went to settle the bill she charged us 2-95 each for the shop brought crumble,frankly it was the worst meal i have ever had in a resturant.There are some lovley resturants and pubs that serve food in the local area choose one of these instead.One good thing that they had was a water cooler in the doorway which is a great idea.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PIPO36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmefieldguesthouse, Owner at Holmefield Guesthouse & Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

What a pity you didn't speak to us about your meal if you were unhappy, everyone that had dinner on the same evening as you had completely clean plates when they were brought back into the kitchen and said their meal was nice. When undertaking a promotion such as Groupon you need to carefully look at what it offered and check your confirmation that we send to ensure that you understand what you are to receive, the reason why we offer dinner on the second night was not to get food out of the freezer (the chicken chasseur was cooked that day) but to cater for guests arriving at all different times. We don't offer pastries at breakfast because we have tried this before and they are not popular, what we do offer is fresh fruit, cereals, variety of yogurts, English Breakfast or porridge or smoked salmon and eggs, we don't find it a problem usually for guests to ask if they require anything extra. The deal you received was extremely good value and most visitors who have taken advantage of this offer and been highly delighted, looking at your other reviews we can see that you are often disappointed with discounted deals,however we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 126 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

Used the groupon deal for a two night stay at the Holmefield Guesthouse. We stayed in the Chatsworth room which was an extra £20 per night but well worth it for the bath alone!. The room was brilliant, lovely furnishings and the hospitality tray was well stocked!

Breakfast was nice, arrived quickly after ordering with a selection of cereals and fruit available.

We booked an evening meal but a little disapointed with the meal choices. The menu we where given was not what was shown on the website, that would be my only negative thing to say.

Would recommend to friends and family!

Room Tip: Room 3 - Chatsworth room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Enjoyed a two night stay. Both Kate and Geoff very welcoming. Rooms very nice. Holmefield is in a lovely location with stunning views from the breakfast room.
Top tip, taxis are difficult to get in Darley before 7 at night so take this into consideration if you are dining out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARK O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Holmefield Guest House, in the Chatsworth Room, for two nights (Friday and Saturday). Kate was very flexible about allowing us to check in a little bit later on the Friday night, since we were travelling down straight after work. Upon arrival, Geoff was welcoming and helped us with our bags, and we felt comfortable that the staff left us to our own devices for the remainder of the evening.

The Chatsworth Room has lovely antique furniture and a roll top bath in the bedroom, which was very luxurious! We particularly liked the two armchairs by a window overlooking beautiful scenery. The ensuite bathroom had a large shower and good quality complimentary toiletries were provided. The tea tray was well stocked - the cafetiere was a very nice touch.

On the Saturday evening, we dined in the restaurant and the food was fantastic and reasonably priced. The bar is a nice idea and there is also an honesty bar for when it is closed. Next door is a lovely sitting room with arm chairs and lots of books and DVDs to borrow. We enjoyed meeting the resident cat in there after our dinner!

Breakfast was delicious and staff are accommodating if you wish to switch items on the menu. The melon on the breakfast bar was really refreshing, and accompanied a variety of cereals, yoghurts and fruit. It may have been nice to have a choice of pastries and croissants, but we certainly weren't disappointed with the spread.

All in all, we enjoyed a truly relaxing stay at Holmefield. The setting is very peaceful and the views from our room and the sitting room/restaurant were picturesque. It is also in a really good location for visiting Bakewell and Chatsworth House, both of which are very close and certainly worth a visit. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the guest house; in fact we are hoping to stay again and spend some more time in the area, as there wasn't enough time to see and do everything!

Room Tip: The Chatsworth Room is very luxurious and comfortable, with great views across the fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jcw54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for two nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The guest house is lovely, the room (Riber) very well appointed and comfortable bed. The owners were very nice and welcoming. Breakfasts are lovely - plentiful to set you up for a days walking! the views from the terrace are fab! We would recommend a stay here.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lissim09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here; good location, good room and very good hosts.
Not sure what qualifies it for 5 stars though, have stayed at better 4 star places that are cheaper.
The breakfast was good, but they struggled to serve everyone at the same time.
Could have done with more shampoo and shower foam, and some tissues in the room.
Disappointed that we didn't have wifi connection as we weren't in the house.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan25252525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I certainly would recommend this guest house having returned home this afternoon as I write, we had one of the outside barn rooms which offered charm too difficult to describe as it had a character of its own looking out to the Dales. Whilst they were right next to the main road you really could not hear the traffic passing close by and were well proportioned even though the bathroom was a little 'cramped', this was not an issue during our stay - maybe a walk-in shower would have been better than a bath!. The room we had was exceptionally clean, the bed was very comfortable which is high praise indeed as I have experienced hotels Globally with some 5 star establishments far worse than those here at the Holemfield - well done!.

We arrived on Friday evening after a long day, I was acting as Chauffeur for my wife travelling some 400 miles visiting several clients and were greeted immediately upon arrival very warmly by our hosts. We decided to stay in for the evening and took the opportunity of having our meal in the restaurant from a good choice of dishes for such a small establishment and were pleasantly surprised how well they were presented and tasted - the choice of wines need to be commended. There is a small bar available but were too tired to take advantage upon arrival.

The location of the establishment is excellent being only a short drive to Chatsworth House, a must visit to anyone especially from Overseas who will appreciate the architecture and the fantastic gardens - truly a beautiful place and well worth the entrance fee. The surrounding area has much to offer with Bakewell also short distance away, you must try the 'original' Bakewell tart with custard which is certainly different to those purchased from the supermarket!.

We stayed 2 nights at the Holmefield and enjoyed every moment, the breakfasts are very good with a good choice available - we certainly will stay here again the next time either myself, my wife or both of us are in the area. A great relaxing guest house for those who really do need to unwind!.

JC

Room Tip: Do not be put off by being next to a main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darley Dale
4.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
329 reviews
1.3 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Barringtons
Barringtons
#2 of 6 in Darley Dale
171 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 8 in Matlock Bath
464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deeley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmefield Guesthouse & Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmefield Guesthouse & Holiday Cottages

Address: Dale Road North, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Darley Dale
Price Range: $118 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Holmefield Guesthouse & Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmefield Guesthouse Hotel Darley Dale
Holmefield Guesthouse & Holiday Cottages Darley Dale, Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing