We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barringtons

Barringtons
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barringtons
Ranked #3 of 6 Darley Dale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Comfortable and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had gone to Barringtons for lunch one day in February this year when staying in Matlock (very nice- Sid's Cottage), and were so impressed we came back in August for a 3 day holiday, arriving Sunday and leaving Weds., and which was very good value. Came by bus which is very easy, and we were very pleased with the whole experience. The staff were very welcoming and efficient, and our room was massive (room 5) facing the front. There is plenty of traffic, but the hotel is far enough from the road that the noise is unobtrusive, even with the window open. Lots of choice for breakfast and very well cooked. We had one evening meal, which was well cooked pub food. Bar prices were reasonable, and there was some very nice real ale. Only one very slight niggle, our mattress had seen better days being very saggy, however we slept fairly well despite that (long walks helped!). The hotel is very handy for walking on the east side of the peak district, we did the Monsal Trail from Bakewell and also directly across the hill to Cromford and from there back to Matlock via Riber Castle (very disappointing, you can't get into it and no refreshments nearby)

Room Tip: We had room 5 which has the Queen sized bed and is large enough to have two easy chairs as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidanddeirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    41
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
33
80
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Watford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were staying up the hill at Darwin Lake in a self catering cottage, and came here twice in 3 days as the first meal was exceptionally good, second time around was just as good. Good choice of beers and great wine list, enough choices to suit most...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22sean78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Commandeered 4 of the hotels rooms for my daughters wedding next door at the Whitworth centre.My daughter had the largest room with a beautiful window seat ideal for the photographer to take his posing shots.The hotel very kindly left us alone all day whilst we had beauty and hair specialist in and out and all the family milling about all day .That told everything else about the hotel was excellent lovely breakfast .Just one fault on the Friday night there was a singer on and it was a bit noisy but it finished at 11.30 so not too bad all told lovely stay .

Room Tip: Room 1 as a lovely window seat
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

we have b een going to whitworth sixteen years we love the food and staff are great the barman who"s been there for years is simply the best he is top man we had are if anyone is looking where to have wedding reception I would say this hotel makes you feel like a princess 16yrs on and my husband and myself have a meal here and our daughter thank you whitworth

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed in room 3 for one night while travelling in the area. Room was clean & had all the necessary requirements. The evening menu is good and meals were really tasty, though bit of a wait as the place was quite busy. Staff were really friendly & helpful. Breakfast, from 7.30-10, was ok, not much choice, some cereal & a traditional English which wasn't that tasty & hash browns arrived after we had finished! Not luxury, but a good average pub B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALICE0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Called in for lunch excellent snack & full meal menu ! Very good prices would reccomend.
Also tapas snack menu fro £2.50. Some or the main meals been servered looked good sized portions and there was nothing left on the plates. Wehad sandwiches with side salad and the most amazing caramalised chips which where truly scrummy!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigjohnthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent Hotel now called Barringtons, very good value, location, staff, food all very good. Very large room with amazingly comfortable bed.
The hotel also has entertainment some Saturday evenings. Loveley fresh cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 5 is above the bar, a little noisy until after 11.00 o;clock
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHappyHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darley Dale
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
4.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deeley House Bed & Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 51 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barringtons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barringtons

Property: Barringtons
Address: Dale Road North, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2FT, England (Formerly Whitworth Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Darley Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barringtons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barringtons Darley Dale, Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing