We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place”
Review of Barringtons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barringtons
Ranked #2 of 6 Darley Dale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

we have b een going to whitworth sixteen years we love the food and staff are great the barman who"s been there for years is simply the best he is top man we had are if anyone is looking where to have wedding reception I would say this hotel makes you feel like a princess 16yrs on and my husband and myself have a meal here and our daughter thank you whitworth

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 171 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed in room 3 for one night while travelling in the area. Room was clean & had all the necessary requirements. The evening menu is good and meals were really tasty, though bit of a wait as the place was quite busy. Staff were really friendly & helpful. Breakfast, from 7.30-10, was ok, not much choice, some cereal & a traditional English which wasn't that tasty & hash browns arrived after we had finished! Not luxury, but a good average pub B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALICE0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Called in for lunch excellent snack & full meal menu ! Very good prices would reccomend.
Also tapas snack menu fro £2.50. Some or the main meals been servered looked good sized portions and there was nothing left on the plates. Wehad sandwiches with side salad and the most amazing caramalised chips which where truly scrummy!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigjohnthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent Hotel now called Barringtons, very good value, location, staff, food all very good. Very large room with amazingly comfortable bed.
The hotel also has entertainment some Saturday evenings. Loveley fresh cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 5 is above the bar, a little noisy until after 11.00 o;clock
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHappyHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a 3 night stay and were amazed at the size and quality of the room (room 2) very spacious and clean. The breakfast was very good and was cooked to order so was always hot.
We ate in the dining room each evening and the service and quality of the food was excellent.
All in all excellent value for money and highly recommended if you are looking to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Room 2 is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Everything was superb. The lady on reception was fantastic and did everything she could to make our stay enjoyable - nothing was too much.
Our room was of a good size and very clean and breakfast the next morning was fabulous. A choice of various different breakfasts that were served to your table. You could also help yourself to juice, tea, coffee, fruit and cereals.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAMember06272013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We (two couples down from Scotland) spent two nights here and thought it offered excellent value both for accommodation and meals. Our room, No. 3, was clean and bright and had a good view of the village and the hills in the background. If you choose the "Big Breakfast" to start your day be prepared to eat nothing else until late evening - it is massive! Behind the hotel is a large well laid out park with ponds and rhododendrons which makes for a pleasant walk before breakfast or after your evening meal. It is also ideally situated for touring the surrounding district and we have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Room No. 3 for large room and good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank granPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darley Dale
3.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
329 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
385 reviews
4.7 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 53 in Matlock
442 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Wellington Country Inn
2.7 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 8 in Matlock Bath
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barringtons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barringtons

Address: Dale Road North, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2FT, England (Formerly Whitworth Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Darley Dale
Price Range: $65 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Barringtons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barringtons Darley Dale, Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing