We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in the Peak District”
Review of Barringtons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barringtons
Ranked #2 of 6 Darley Dale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We were greatly impressed by the huge size of the rooms, the scrupulous cleanliness and the quality of the furniture and fittings in the room.

However, this was exceeded by the superb food and excellent service.

This is what a small hotel should be. 3* rating, 5* service.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the park and are therefore quieter, but the two rooms we saw (front and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keithreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 173 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2011

Have had two family meals here. Lovely, imaginative food, great real ale, superb atmosphere. It has pulled off the trick of being a pub that also does good food, instead of a restaurant that grudgingly serves drinks. The owner is often in and is always happy to chat, which is nice as well. Staff very fiendly and efficient. Good Childrens menu. Havent stayed here so cant commnet on the rooms.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HenryStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for one night a few weeks ago, we had a really lovely room , the food was fabulous, really good quality. They also had a singer on who was really good too . Wished we could have stayed for 2 nights but no availibilty . Will return .

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

A very welcoming, small hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Our room was a touch on the small side but adequate for an overnight stay. If you decide to stay at this place, be sure to book a table in the restaurant for the food is simply amazing. Tasty, generous portions and a menu which offered such tempting choices at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Visited this hotel twice, for food only, and on the first visit, seated in the restaurant, we were pleased with both the food and service. A young man of about 20 looked after us very well. On the strength of that, we decided to book again even though we would be in the "pub" area and it would be 8.00pm rather than our preferred 7.15pm. At the time of booking, we were not told that a singer would be performing in the pub area from 9.30pm.
We arrived just before 8.00pm and were ready to order at 8.05pm, but this was not taken until 8.20pm. The starter arrived at 8.45pm and the main course at 9.15pm i.e. 1hour 15 mins after we had arrived. Slow service to say the least !!! The young waitresses were struggling to cope with the party in the full restaurant as well as us;
the singer asked if we would mind him starting his act whilst we were still eating ( a nice gesture on his part I thought ) . We had no objections, even though we were aware that his microphone stand was a mere 2 feet from our table and that we too would be in the spotlight . We all finished our main courses by 9.40pm and waited for the plates to be collected,and perhaps order a sweet..................and we waited. No waitress, bar staff or managemnet approached so by 10.00pm I went looking for ANY member of staff to get the bill.
Needless to say, we left the hotel extremely disgruntled , especially as our first visit was entirely satisfactory. The food was good, but the waitresses are definitely in need of some training and this has been highlighted in other reviews on this site. It gives me no pleasure to write a negative review, but perhaps the Management of the hotel should now be getting the message that reviews like this will continue to appear unless they deal with the poor service which has been highlighted on more than one occasion.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groovyxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for one night only but it was not enough... The staff at the reception were very nice and helpful. When i asked about the hotel itself, it's history lady from the reception printed out information about the hotel's history.
The room was gorgeous with a beautiful view over the deer park... As a huge animal lover i was so happy with it so as was my partner.
We had a dinner at the bar, very nicely presented and well done. Also the bar member was kind and when we asked for the table outside ( nobody was eating outside) he said it is not a problem.
The deer park and surroundings of the place are outstanding. We just booked couple more nights in July and we both really looking forward to it :)
Big thank you to everyone who made our stay so nice :)

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank kkitajka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

booked a room through, booking .com
The web site advised only 2 rooms left, so plumped for superior room, recieved e-mail confirmation of booking.
Recieved e-mail following morning, " Sorry we have to cancel your booking ,as this afternoon. all rooms were booked by a wedding party"
Obviously one does not believe this as it must be a very small wedding, I suspect they actually got a booking for more than one night, over the bank holiday weekend.A phone call from the hotel would have been more customer friendly, not a terse worded e-mail.
obviously money is more important than customer service

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank johnl1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darley Dale
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 3 in Matlock
425 reviews
3.5 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 2 in Matlock Bath
386 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Slayleigh B&B
Slayleigh B&B
#1 of 6 in Darley Dale
53 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deeley House Bed & Breakfast
3 mi away
Ashdale Guest House
Ashdale Guest House
#2 of 8 in Matlock Bath
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barringtons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barringtons

Address: Dale Road North, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2FT, England (Formerly Whitworth Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Darley Dale
Price Range: $77 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Barringtons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barringtons Darley Dale, Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing