We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good all round” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barringtons

Barringtons
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barringtons
Ranked #3 of 6 Darley Dale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very good all round”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for one night a few weeks ago, we had a really lovely room , the food was fabulous, really good quality. They also had a singer on who was really good too . Wished we could have stayed for 2 nights but no availibilty . Will return .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    39
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
32
75
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

A very welcoming, small hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Our room was a touch on the small side but adequate for an overnight stay. If you decide to stay at this place, be sure to book a table in the restaurant for the food is simply amazing. Tasty, generous portions and a menu which offered such tempting choices at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Visited this hotel twice, for food only, and on the first visit, seated in the restaurant, we were pleased with both the food and service. A young man of about 20 looked after us very well. On the strength of that, we decided to book again even though we would be in the "pub" area and it would be 8.00pm rather than our preferred 7.15pm. At the time of booking, we were not told that a singer would be performing in the pub area from 9.30pm.
We arrived just before 8.00pm and were ready to order at 8.05pm, but this was not taken until 8.20pm. The starter arrived at 8.45pm and the main course at 9.15pm i.e. 1hour 15 mins after we had arrived. Slow service to say the least !!! The young waitresses were struggling to cope with the party in the full restaurant as well as us;
the singer asked if we would mind him starting his act whilst we were still eating ( a nice gesture on his part I thought ) . We had no objections, even though we were aware that his microphone stand was a mere 2 feet from our table and that we too would be in the spotlight . We all finished our main courses by 9.40pm and waited for the plates to be collected,and perhaps order a sweet..................and we waited. No waitress, bar staff or managemnet approached so by 10.00pm I went looking for ANY member of staff to get the bill.
Needless to say, we left the hotel extremely disgruntled , especially as our first visit was entirely satisfactory. The food was good, but the waitresses are definitely in need of some training and this has been highlighted in other reviews on this site. It gives me no pleasure to write a negative review, but perhaps the Management of the hotel should now be getting the message that reviews like this will continue to appear unless they deal with the poor service which has been highlighted on more than one occasion.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank groovyxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for one night only but it was not enough... The staff at the reception were very nice and helpful. When i asked about the hotel itself, it's history lady from the reception printed out information about the hotel's history.
The room was gorgeous with a beautiful view over the deer park... As a huge animal lover i was so happy with it so as was my partner.
We had a dinner at the bar, very nicely presented and well done. Also the bar member was kind and when we asked for the table outside ( nobody was eating outside) he said it is not a problem.
The deer park and surroundings of the place are outstanding. We just booked couple more nights in July and we both really looking forward to it :)
Big thank you to everyone who made our stay so nice :)

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kkitajka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

booked a room through, booking .com
The web site advised only 2 rooms left, so plumped for superior room, recieved e-mail confirmation of booking.
Recieved e-mail following morning, " Sorry we have to cancel your booking ,as this afternoon. all rooms were booked by a wedding party"
Obviously one does not believe this as it must be a very small wedding, I suspect they actually got a booking for more than one night, over the bank holiday weekend.A phone call from the hotel would have been more customer friendly, not a terse worded e-mail.
obviously money is more important than customer service

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnl1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

The hotel has 5 bedrooms and ours was very comfortable and clean (an armchair would have been nice for my hubby). The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was extremely good and the restaurant was always busy, so if you stay book a table in the morning for the evening.
Good location for the Derbyshire Dales Matlock and Bakewell.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoDurhamTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

having booked online, and in need of a place for some r&r, I arrived at the hotel and thought I'd come to a pub. however this is not actually the case, although locals do use the bar. it isn't a huge place and it is on a main road, so be prepared for some noise, but it worked for me.

The room was well appointed, bathroom was small but ok, and there was ample tea and coffee in the room. And it was comfortable enough to sit in the room and play scrabble on a wet afternoon (three padded chairs (not arm chairs) and a table.

The breakfast was great, plenty to eat, don't understand the comments of other reviewers, the bacon must be local and is delicious, if the big breakfast was ordered, few could finish it. - downside, service was slow and a couple more members of staff are needed.

Dinner - brilliant - ate in 2 out of 3 nights, couldn't fault it, 2nd night the mushrooms were divine, the sauce awesome, the pork, best I've had for ages...and too much to eat dessert. - too good to be true!! Decent wine list as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VNiceness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darley Dale
4.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
5.0 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Grouse and Claret
Grouse and Claret
#3 of 5 in Rowsley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Duke of Wellington Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barringtons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barringtons

Property: Barringtons
Address: Dale Road North, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2FT, England (Formerly Whitworth Park Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Darley Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barringtons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barringtons Darley Dale, Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing