We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a fantastic b&b!!”

The Square & Compass Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darley Dale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Square & Compass Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Darley Dale B&B and Inns
1 review
“This is a fantastic b&b!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stayed here for 1 night on 5th November whilst attending a family wedding near by. I was a little wary about the hotel after reading some comments on here but I have to say it was brilliant. The staff were extreamly friendly (even giving us a lift back to the wedding to save on a taxi!) we needed a quad room but they only had a triple left so the owner put a fold out bed for us and reduced to rate for the room! The rooms look gorgeous with modern bedding and decor. The best were the comfiest I have ever slept in!! It was clean and well lit with tea and coffee making facilities and a brand new TV with freeview.

We all opted for a full breakfast which was lovely, there was also cereal.

I'm so glad I didn't listen to people on here that just seem to like a moan! I would stay here time and time again. It was brilliant value at only £30pppn!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy9598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    12
    4
    11
See reviews for
16
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2011

After reading many poor reviews I thought I'd write about our stay, we've just got back from a stay here and found it lovely, our room was on the front but could hear no noise from the road, the room was lovely and clean, very soft comfy bed, very clean bathroom, the staff were all very friendly, we had breakfast in the conservatory overlooking fields, the breakfast was lovely and you got more than enough food, we would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klcrockford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We camped on the field opposite and for a returned favor our group went over to the pub to eat. What a disappointment to say the least.

The food was at best atrocious. Chips soggy and sweet, the beef steak was more like pork - just where do you buy grey beef from again? Chicken pie that was tasteless, anemic chicken and as for the fish!

To top it off we were told - its our fault for coming in a big group and it was all home-cooked! We would have been better off with a microwaved ping ping special.

Pity because its in a lovely area and could be so nice

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simono1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darley Dale hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2010

we have stayed at this beautiful country inn several times in the winter there are lovely homely log fires and in the summer beautiful surroundings to sit in. The landlord and landlady and all the staff make you feel so welcome its like coming home. The food is superb the rooms are lovely and very clean. We hope to keep going back 'home' for many years to come

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolm697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

we stayed here for 2 nights but regretted doing so . on the phone when we booked we were quioted £80 for a family room but when we checked out this had turned into £120 for the room !! The room itself was VERY basic with a lumpy double bed , an ok single and a camp bed that was practically unusable . on the positive side the shower was hot but that was about all that was good . the room decor was grim , there was a tiny overhead TV with poor reception a quite grubby bathroom - there was traffic noise and the breakfast was fairly hideous comprising cheap sausages which were so greasy i think they had been deep fried - the whole lot was swimming in oil . we were the only people staying there and the pub itself was empty for the 2 nights we were there so no atmosphere at all -yuk yuk yuk !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury, West Midlands.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Bed & Breakfast accommodation, and caravan and camping park opposite, with pub underneath, stayed for 3 nights in the 'Haddon Room'. Situated in a good position to Matlock and Bakewell. If you dont mind noise this place will be okay..All rooms facing the front, next to a busy road, hence traffic noise..Live entertainment was loud in rooms, going on late..Showers & toilets for campers underneath rooms, doors continually banging day and late night time.Customers coming and going, and chatting outside pub till late, and while smoking out front..Really bad point, was that the hot water was on a timer, and by 9.30am it was turned off, by then all the campers had used the hot water, and as breakfast was from 8.30am-9.30am, by the time you returned back from it, you were not able to have a hot shower, unless you had it before breakfast, so subsequently two out of the three mornings we ended up having a luke warm almost cold shower, thought they were abit mean turning the heating and hot water off so early, and for £80.00 per night, you would expect the basics at least..Good points.. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, and served average evening meals, a nice view from the back over looking a field full of cows, bed was comfy, a few little extra's in rooms, ie. soap, shampoo, shower gel, facial tissues, biscuits, hot chocolate drink..Rooms average, clean n tidy, but lighting in rooms not very good, bulbs had gone in two lights, and toilet did have a nasty smell to it..Over all would not stay again in a pub/inn just too noisy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2010

We visited this pub on probably the coldest weekend of the year. We sat in the bar next to a lovely fire and were warmly welcomed by the landlord. Our room was more than adequate for the price we paid and was warm and cosy, with tea and coffee facilities thrown in. Breakfast the next morning was very good and served in the conservatory by friendly and helpful staff. The evening meal was excellent with lots of choice and definitely not just 'pub grub'. There was a little road noise in the morning but with double and secondary glazing fitted this did not disturb our sleep and was no more than you would expect with a pub sited on a road. The wonderful position next to the river, more than made up for it. With the glorious snowy countryside we had a wonderful picturesque weekend away.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lottieLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darley Dale
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
305 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grouse and Claret
Grouse and Claret
#3 of 5 in Rowsley
431 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barringtons
Barringtons
#2 of 6 in Darley Dale
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Willersley Castle Hotel
Willersley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Slayleigh B&B
Slayleigh B&B
#1 of 6 in Darley Dale
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chesterfield House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Square & Compass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Square & Compass Inn

Property: The Square & Compass Inn
Address: Station Road | Darley Dale, Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Darley Dale
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Square & Compass Inn Darley Dale, Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing