We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection in the Peak district”
other travelers have booked this property
Torside Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Torside Holiday Cottage
Front Garden Garden looking over to the gorge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Torside Holiday Cottage
Front Garden
Garden looking over to the gorge
Dining kitchen
Dining kitchen
Sliding sash
Fossilliferous limestone open fire
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Old postcard of Peak Cavern Gorge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Castleton, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colette13...
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfection in the Peak district”
Reviewed February 20, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had a great stay at Torside. We loved the care and attention Lisa had given to the house. The bedding and towels were great quality and the welcome pack a lovely touch.
We hadn't been to Castleton before and were lucky to have snow which made the area even more beautiful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newks1102
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed January 18, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We had the absolute pleasure of staying here for a couple of nights at the beginning of January with friends who were visiting from Chicago . When you have a picture in your mind of the perfect cottage in Derbyshire Torside exceeds everything we were hoping to find !!The entire experience was more than perfect , BEAUTIFUL COTTAGE, STUNNING LOCATION , QUAINT VILLAGE ( superb eating and drinking less than five minute walk away ) and an extremely accommodating host!!
Lisa we can’t thankyou enough for allowing us the privilege of staying in your idyllic , picture postcard cottage !!
A five star review is seriously not enough !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charding2...
Viersen, Germany
1 review
“A little bit of paradise in the beautiful Peak District”
Reviewed May 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Torside is a beautiful idydilc cottage in Castleton in the Peak District. The location is absolutely breathtaking.... It was our second stay in Torside, Lisa and her family made us extremely welcome . There are maps in the cottage which we made very good use of.... We did some amazing walks (even to Buxton). Lady Bower Reservoir is well worth a visit also. But the best way to investigate the ares around Castleton is just walk and see where you end up :-) Eating out is also not a problem if you like good English Pubs.... there are plenty to chose from...
Enjoy, relax and take in every breath of the beautiful Peak District

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labbyd198...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The cottage is perfect and cosy, ideal location in the beautiful village. Lovely creature comforts and attention to detail from the owner. We particularly liked the coal fire (it was snowing in late April!) and the provision of a washing machine and dryer (2 year olds get their clothes dirty a lot). I literally cannot fault it. We had the best time! Thanks so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2017
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please visit again.
Best wishes,
Lisa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeSunfl...
home
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, spectacular location.”
Reviewed February 17, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Torside is a lovely cottage set in a gorge close to the entrance of the Peak Cavern and at the top of the gorge Peveril Castle.
The cottage is warm, cozy (but not too small) and very clean, with an open fire, modern kitchen, 2 bedrooms and a bathroom with shower over the bath. Everything you needed was provided and a lovely welcome basket of wine, fresh bread, milk and butter was waiting when we arrived. Lisa the owner was very friendly and helpful. The village of Castleton is a short walk with plenty of pubs and places to eat. Torside is in a great location to tour the Peak District either by car or on foot. We visited in February but would love to go back in another season.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2017
Thank you very much for visiting Yvonne. I am pleased you enjoyed our little old cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cosy (but not cramped) cottage with unique surroundings”
Reviewed November 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed with my wife and two friends, we all had a great enjoying what Castleton had to offer. 'Torside' is the last building before you get to the spectacular entrance to Peak Cavern and from the front door you can see the cliff face that Peveril Castle stands atop. Several excellent pubs a few minutes walk away and the surrounding hills that include Mam Tor offer the opportunity for long (or short) walks. Torside was always nice to come back to after a day out and relax in front of the open fire and smart TV. Very little phone reception but good Wifi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and surroundings
Liked least: Lack of phone signal
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing