We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home. Graham and Jayne E.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunscar Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home. Graham and Jayne E.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights 21-22 March. The owners were friendly and the border collie was lovely (except my wife wanted to bring her in at night when it was cold!!!) The accommodation was warm clean and tastefully set out. The breakfasts kept us going all day. We wanted a complete rest after a difficult few months and this absolutely did the trick. I would recommend this accommodation if you want a peaceful break and the opportunity to explore the wonderful countryside around the Peak District.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
80
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights at beginning of Feb, and found the farm to be superbly located for walking the hills and exploring the Peak District. There are several dinner options in near by Castleton, but do leave space for the delicious full breakfast at the B&B!
The room was spacious and impeccably clean, the shower perfectly adequate. I am sure to stay here again in the future.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Criggles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here for a short 3 night stay and enjoyed it immensely. We didn't travel too far from home, just wanted a little break for a while and I'm glad we chose this farm. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. It's in a perfect location. The rooms were clean, warm and comfy and the breakfast delicious. The little extras like a fridge that guests can use meant we came back to a nicely chilled bottle of wine after a breezy walk up Mam Tor! Castleton is only a short walk away and there are lots of great places to eat there. We both felt really refreshed after our stay and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Dunscar for two night recently and had a great time. The weather was poor but there is walking from the front door. There is a dry room area which is shared with the farmers gear. Free wifi is available in the communal room. Only fault was that you can hear people moving above you. Would recommend this warm, friendly, clean and well run B&B

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnchadh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

It is a great place to stay. Only 15 min walk to town. We were met as we arrived and made to feel very welcome. The room was great. As they advertise the have a drying room for walkers I was not expecting it to be so well appointed. The full English breakfast was the best I've had in as long as I can remember. I'm fussy how my bacon is cooked ! I couldn't fault it.... Perfect is all I can say.
A great week end. Will be going back again. Would defiantly recommend it all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Quiet and picturesque with great views of Mam Tor and the surrounding hills. A perfect base for those long walks around the Hope Valley. The rooms were cosy, clean and comfortable and there was a nice supply of coffee, teas, biscuits, chocolates and bottled water. Crisp, clean linen and towels and a modern bathroom.
The hosts were very welcoming and the breakfast was hearty and ample. Enough to keep you going all day! Next time I'm in the Peak District I will definitely stay at Dunscar Farm.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Virgil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Having a late change of mind, we booked the last available room at this B and B. We were very pleased that we did. Very comfortable. Good parking. Very quiet. Excellent breakfast. Less than 10 minutes walk into the village. Great ridge walk from the door. We will come again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thrumptonpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
3.0 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#1 of 13 in Castleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rushop Hall
Rushop Hall
#1 of 6 in Castleton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunscar Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunscar Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dunscar Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Dunscar Farm Bed And Breakfast Castleton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing