We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue in a great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunscar Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent venue in a great location”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Having a late change of mind, we booked the last available room at this B and B. We were very pleased that we did. Very comfortable. Good parking. Very quiet. Excellent breakfast. Less than 10 minutes walk into the village. Great ridge walk from the door. We will come again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thrumptonpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    23
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
86
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We found such a warm and friendly welcome at the farm we could happily recommed it to all our friends. The location is quite handy for walking into the town while still enjoying wonderful views and the extra intertest of a traditional farm.
Our hosts had thought of everything, from a good drying room, complete with fridge for any food we wanted to store, wine opener and glasses in the room and even robes in our private bathroom in case we hadn't brought any along.
The room was spacious and pretty, breakfast had a very good choice and was served by a friendly and helpful young waitress. Everywhere was very clean and much attention had been paid to all the little details which make for an enjoyable visit. Well done and thank you..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yankeelass57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Dunscar Farm is ina quiet & picturesque setting 5 mins walk from the village centre.

We were not disappointed with any part of our stay, the setting really is perfect on a working but quiet farm, the historic building has been tastefully converted to accommodate the B&B with well presented, clean and cosy rooms (and a very comfy bed!). There is a drying room, dining area and WiFi room. The the owners Gary and Janet are great, made us feel very welcome and Gary's breakfast is delicious.

We highly recommend staying here if you are visiting Castleton, there are plenty of walks that start within a 1 mile radius (the outdoor shops sell handy walkers guides for 50p or so), the George pub is close enough to walk to (take a torch for the walk back!) does fantastic food and the staff are also very welcoming.

We'll definitely be visiting again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Dunscar Farm.
The managers were really nice. the location is excellent, and the experience was really nice.
Breakfast was good, plenty to choose from. And the walks were really nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dav502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Dunscar farm is in a brilliant location, tucked under Mam Tor and Castleton only 10 minutes walk away. The rooms were lovely and clean and very comfortable. Although breakfast was good for the meat eaters of the group, the vegetarian had to settle for an additional egg with no actual vegetarian option given, even though we had requested this earlier in the week.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmtt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Dunscar farm bed and Breakfast is superbly located under Mam Tor, with walks from the farm.
We had a lovely welcome, and immediately felt at home. we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. The beds were extremely comfortable, the rooms well presented.
The breakfasts were wonderful, made to suit the individual!
Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benidorm, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Search no more!! This is the place to stay. Gary and Janet are the most amazing hosts I've ever come across. If you want to stay in the Hope Valley then Castleton is the preferred choice and Dunscar farm has it all. It's just outside the village down a private drive to the farm. It's a working farm so expect some activity which is great! As i arrived I was welcomed by Gary and shown to my room. It was just what I expected, clean, ample, warm and with my own bathroom. I was given all kinds of information regarding the area. The breakfast in the morning is just amazing!! Eggs from about 10ft away. Bacon and everything locally sourced. Just perfect. If you are going on a walking holiday then this is your gateway to winnets pass, Castleton etc

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riweb1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
1.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.6 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#2 of 13 in Castleton
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Swiss House B&B
Swiss House B&B
#3 of 13 in Castleton
307 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
2.1 mi away
Stonecroft Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunscar Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunscar Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dunscar Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Dunscar Farm Bed And Breakfast Castleton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing