We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunscar Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and were made to feel very welcome. Lovely room with very comfortable bed and plenty of storage. Breakfast was excellent- well cooked and plenty of it. It was good to feel that you could come and go as you please throughout the day.Liked the use of an additional fridge if we needed to store our own milk etc. Good spot to explore the Peak district on the the doorstep- caverns, walks and wonderful scenery.

Room Tip: The family room we stayed in was excellent- lots of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8happydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 139 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

The wife and I found this place last minute on National Trust website. I can't recommend this place highly enough. First the room was clean and comfortable. There are a few ways of getting into the village (though avoid dirty path when it's wet, it lives up to it's name) where there is a good selection of pubs and eateries. The breakfast was very well cooked/ presented and tasted wonderful. There were some young lambs on the farm which made a nice change from the typical B&Bs we've stayed in before.
A big thankyou to all at Dunscar Farm for making our break away so memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just back home from a lovely weekend at Dunscar farm. The room was very clean and the complimentary chocolates were a lovely surprise. Footpaths leave from the farm and Castleton village centre is just a short, level walk across the fields. Perfect for a weekend break from city life! Highly recommended, even in the snow!!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank CaroH2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent the weekend at Dunscar farm and had a great time. The hotel was great, very clean, and the breakfast was delicious. The bathroom and the bedroom were spacious and modern and spotless.
Absolutely no complaints.
Thank you!
Edward.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Dunscar farm is one of those rare B & B's that everyone would enjoy staying at. Its location is superb just a short stroll from Castleton village centre, almost opposite from Speedwell cavern, and yet you will truly feel that you are in a rural hideaway. The farm is extremely well kept and those who do not care for contact with animals will be quite happy as the sheep are out in the fields and only a few penned chickens are kept to provide fresh eggs for breakfast every morning. The large farmhouse is beautiful, spotlessly clean. Our bedroom was large, fully equipped with everything you could require for a very comfortable stay. Excellent beds and linen, attention to detail noticed by high quality toiletries, toilet paper. Tea and coffee facilities with ample selection of biscuits provided. Flat screen TV with digital channels.
Breakfast is a most welcome occasion. Full selection of cereals, yoghurt, freshly prepared fruit and fruit juice. Cooked breakfast is a must with delicious local sausages and bacon, fresh eggs, fried bread, tomatoes, mushrooms and beans. A mixed selection of toast with quality marmalade and jam. Real coffee in a cafetiere!
Excellent hosts who will go the extra mile to ensure you have a very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: The large family room has wonderful views across the fields to the mountains and speedwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drfcok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We booked for one night bed and breakfast the day before we travelled. Arrived at the b&b in the dark and heavy rain, followed the directions given on the website and found it with no problems. Was greeted on arrival and shown to our room. The room was lovely and homely, clean and tidy and the chocolates a real treat! Woke to the sun rising and the most magnificent views of the hills and Mam Tor, beautiful :) breakfast was great as was the service. Lovely B&B which we would visit again, many thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK
1  Thank AmeliaRosex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

After a long day of walking in the Peaks, we were very glad to make it to Dunscar Farm. Very clean, and warm and lots of thoughtful touches (e.g. chocolates, dressing gowns etc) and a good breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bettybegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
1.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
10 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swiss House B&B
Swiss House B&B
#3 of 13 in Castleton
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#4 of 13 in Castleton
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunscar Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunscar Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Dunscar Farm Bed And Breakfast Castleton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing