We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunscar Farm Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
George Hotel(Hathersage)
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little John Hotel(Hathersage)
$81
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Maynard(Grindleford)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$173
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
112
23
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
23
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmam torprivate bathroomb bbiscuitsspider websshort cutshort walkfresh fruitpeak districtperfect escapefantastic locationa wonderful place to stayon arrivalquiet locationovernight staywithin easy reachwinnats pass
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 139 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Dunscar Farm is a well presented B&B. We booked at the last minute and had to take the room with a separate private bathroom. In the event that was not a problem, our room was comfortable and generously sized with a sink and very ample storage; plenty of room to put away our gear. Our private bathroom was well appointed with both a bath and a separate shower! Dressing gowns were provided. What was most impressive was the careful thought that had been put into making sure we had everything we might need to be comfortable. Every need seemed to have been anticipated from a place to dry wet boots and coats through to fridge access, a corkscrew, biscuits and chocolates. Everything was clean and everything worked!

Breakfast was excellent; there was a choice of cereals and fruit which included a very attractive fresh fruit salad. The cooked breakfast was excellent and cooked with the minimum of fat. The full English would fuel you for the toughest walk but Janet was very ready to put together any variation we asked for.

Dunscar Farm is conveniently situated in the heart of beautiful walking country. There are good walks from the farm and it is only a 10 to 15 minute walk into Castleton for supper. We did not need to move the car from arrival to departure!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UbiqueUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A very welcoming, comfortable & friendly farmhouse. The breakfast is just the thing to start off the day before a walk in the beautiful Peak District National Park. A very good base for walkers as there is no need to use the car. I hope that we can make a return visit someday.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was on the ground floor & adapted for wheelchair users with a walk in shower.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penguin64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Travelling up from north london on a Friday night, Dunscar couldn't have been more accommodating as we arrived after 11pm in the dark, without a problem at all. A friendly note on the door telling us where to go, and a wonderful fresh, clean, lovely bedroom awaited us in this authentic farmhouse (with a couple of treat chocolates .... yum!) We woke up to find fog, but after a hearty breakfast the beautiful Hope valley emerged, and we had a wonderful cycle from the farm up to Ladybower reservoir and back, along quiet country lanes (leaving the car in the farmyard). A refreshing pint in the Peaks Inn on the cycle home, and came back to find a hoovered bedroom and re-made bed, and recovered from our exertions - with biscuits and cold bottled water provided. Then a quick change, and a walk into Castleton across the fields in the dusk to some decent pub grub with Mam Tor illuminated by the setting sun, gorgeous. A slightly inebriated stagger back along the road (bring a torch) and we slumped into lovely comfy sheets. The next morning, with another satisfying breakfast and a well needed coffee, we loaded our bikes onto the car and headed for Kinder Scout. Dunscar farm is fantastic, and if you can choose I'd pick the double bedroom upstairs even without ensuite believe me the view in the morning is unbelievable out across the valley up to the Pass, stunning. I'd also recommend the pack lunches, having eaten a Dunscar Farm cheese sandwich at the top of Kinder Scout looking out over Edale, I'd give them a very warm recommendation. PS the private bathroom was immaculate, and the shower far better than mine at home, what a treat!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctorcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Quite possibly the best bed-and-breakfast establishment we have ever stayed in: home-made scones in the room to greet us, biscuits and water replenished every day, endless hot water, immaculate and comfortable room and a breakfast to keep you going all day. Stunning location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The room was large and well equipped. Room to sit down without tripping over each other.
The view from the room looking at Mam Tor was spectacular. . The breakfast was generous with fresh produce and fresh fruit for the cereal and a delicious kipper by request.
It is a ten minute walk to Castleton across the fields on well marked paths. Castleton has half a dozen pubs selling cask ale and food and a range of places for lunch and teas.
You don't have to drive anywhere for great Peak walks, just walk out of the farm and choose which direction to head in.
If it's raining, it was when we were there and it is often wet, Castelton is in the middle of many caves that are open for visitors.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btbLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews