We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Lovely Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunscar Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Cant be faulted- lovely people, food, location.... Going again in a few weeks! Best scrambled eggs ever!!!! We had the packed lunch on one occasion and that was excellent. They are happy for you to have a bottle of wine in the garden and there is a fridge if you want to bring your own sadwiches.

Control over the heating- say no more!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pandorapus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 139 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just returned from a few days at Dunscar Farm, beautiful location with amazing views. Our room was light and airey with an ensuite. Very comfortable, massive breakfasts to set you up for a days exploring.
Easy walking distance to Castleton with it's wide choice of pubs and places to eat also within each reach of the caves just up the road.
Janet and Gary are very friendly and welcoming and I can't wait to return again.

Room Tip: Only one room has no ensuite but you know that when you book so you should be prepared for it. The p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Pleasant, spotlessly clean and comfortable farm accommodation. Slightly outdated and our bedroom didn't have an en suite, the bathroom was down a corridor with very bright lights so by the time you've been up to the loo you're wide awake! Our friends had a downstairs room which was very small but did have an en suite.

Breakfast was very good - cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurt followed by full English with good quality bacon and sausage and delicious scrambled eggs from their own chickens. Only down side was on the second morning we were given tinned tomatoes and frozen hash browns. Also it was a beautiful sunny morning and very hot and stuffy in the dining room, I asked if we could open the windows but was told they didn't open!

The farm is in a beautiful setting with lovely views but if you want to have a drink or meal in town it's a bit of a hike back as it's over a mile out of town. There is a short cut through the meadow but be warned it's very muddy in wet weather!

Castleton is a lovely village with lots of pubs and good places to eat (can recommend 1530). Excellent walking territory and stunning views.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HandC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Clean and cozy rooms, excellent service, very good breakfast. If you like a farm-like environment - this is the place for you.

Room Tip: upstairs is a very large suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Dunscar Farm B&B for three nights whilst visiting the Peak District in June this year. Our room was clean and comfortable with an en-suite shower room. As we were on a farm, it was a lovely, quiet and peaceful setting enabling a good night's sleep to be enjoyed.
The location just outside Castleton is quite spectacular at the foot of Mam Tor and an ideal base for walking or general sightseeing in the Peak District. There are also several Caverns to visit in the immediate vicinity and if you like Italian food, the 1530 Restaurant in Castleton (separate review) is a must for an evening meal.
We also found the Poachers Arms in the nearby village of Hope which also serves excellent food.
Dunscar Farm Full English Breakfasts are excellent with bacon, sausage, eggs, tomatoes, baked beans, mushroooms, fried bread plus tea/coffee and cereals, toast and preserves etc etc on offer - YUMEE ! The ideal start to the day and always much better than cooking it yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We'd stayed here before and loved it but it was a while ago. As soon as we drove along the farm road it all came flooding back. Because, to us, alongside the warm welcome, warm and cosy rooms, fabulous breakfast and the like, it is the position of the farm that really impresses. Even if the weather or dark precludes you from walking into the village and back via the two paths, it is only 15 minutes by road. And yet, the farm itself feels so remote, a proper bolthole. The village pubs have not gone the way of many others either, with all having something to draw customers. We ate at the Nag's in which the choice was vast, the quality high and the price very reasonable. The Cheshire Cheese probably ticks the most 'welcoming country pub' boxes, much needed when the June weather was as autumnal as we found it. The George lovely too.
We managed some low-lying walks despite the rain. Again, the farm's position is perfect because you can walk in any direction and never be far from home should your waterproofs not work as well as you'd hoped.
A wonderful weekend and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neilmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Excellent B&B situated in the heart of a great area for walking. We had a downstairs room which was cosy but extremely comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic - lots of choice including cereals, cooked breakfast and a lovely fresh fruit salad. There is a drying room for coats and boots which we were very glad of given the wet weather! There is also a fridge for guests to use. The town centre is within easy reach - you can walk across the fields or along the road. The farm is an excellent base for walking.

Lots of thought has gone into the accommodation and its no wonder it has 4 stars!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alibaba20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
1.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
8.5 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rambler's Rest Guest House
Rambler's Rest Guest House
#3 of 13 in Castleton
278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swiss House B&B
Swiss House B&B
#2 of 13 in Castleton
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunscar Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunscar Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Dunscar Farm Bed And Breakfast Castleton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing