We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely B and B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunscar Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall
1 review
“A lovely B and B”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Mr Hutchinson here. Easily booked online for me and my partner. Turned up and the place is very clean and tidy, greeted by "Janet" I think. The rooms are very clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was also very nice and staff very pleasant.

Will 100% stay here again in the future and can recommend this to anyone. Very quiet and relaxing B and B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theninjagecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
82
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed for two nights.Got away to recharge batteries and celebrate our anniversary.We were put in a family room which had a double and single bed plus shower room.Room was a good size with two windows,very neat and clean.Breakfast was great with lots of choice and all cooked well.Short walk into Castleton and close to the blue john caverns.All in all a lovely stay and would not hesitate to book again.Also because it was a special occasion Janet brought a bottle of wine and some lovely chocs once we were settled in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResearchTraveller
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed here for two nights whilst walking in Derbyshire. The location is fantastic, a really spectacular place to walk from, and Castleton whilst lacking in much else except nicnak shops has some really good places to eat and drink. The B and B is perfect, being 20 mins walk out of the village, for getting up an appetite and walking the food off after. As a and B and B its one of the better ones in a lot of ways in my experience. Friendly greeting, but the lady running it was around but in no way intrusive. There is enough communal space between the rooms and the rest of the house so you don't feel like you are intruding in any way if you want to sit and use the wireless, or roll in late from the pub (we had our own external door just outside our room which was handy). Plenty of space to hang wet jackets and dry boots off which was useful as our room was neat but lacking in floor space. All very clean, neat bathroom, tea coffee and biscuits on tap, comfy bed. Breakfast was very good - mix of cold, yogurt, fruit, cereal etc, coffee, tea and jouce, then a cooked breakfast as well with lots of variation available. The ingredients perhaps not at quite the same quality as other b and bs of this standard we've been to, but still a great start to the morning. If I had one other criticism it would be the aforementioned lack of floor space. Just a bit too tight in our room - fine for two nights but any more and I think it would have felt cramped. That\s being picky though, this is a really great b and b that really does everything right, and as I said before a fantastic location

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ResearchTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wandsworth , United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Loved this place, little chocolates on arrival, room very big , very comfy bed,breakfast gorgeous. Our room looked out onto lovely garden lots of birds and even saw a little rabbit munching away. Would love to visit again, when it's not pouring with rain so can sit outside. Thankyou Janet

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Recently stayed at Dunscar farm - first time there, had 2 nights for our anniversay. Nice touch wine, card and handmade chocs in our room for our anniversary. Room good size - we had separate bathroom across the corridor which was no problem bath and shower massive room, Dressing gowns provided if required - boot room for wet stuff/boots with fridge for any food/drinks you bring. Good breakfast. Nice views - lambs at this time of year. About 15/20 minutes walk to Castleton, or quicker across the fileds. We ate at Ye Old Nags Head, food very good. Friday quiz night, live music Saturday night. Torch needed for walk back to farm very dark!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ettles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanshanger, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Great location near to the great ridge in the hope valley. You can leave the car at the farm and pick some great walks into the hills. On arrival the landlady give us a choice of a different room, and we took up the offer. A great breakfast sets you up for the day. Will certainly be back there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shylock1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Dunscar Farm was our choice for our January walking weekend and what an excellent choice it proved to be. It is a lovely quiet location surrounded by trees and pasture fields with views of the surrounding hills. The rooms are well-presented with nice touches such as chocolates by the bedside. We were made very welcome by Gary and his helpers (Janet was away on holiday) and nothing was too much trouble. They cater very well for walkers having a drying room and this was particularly beneficial to us as we had picked a wet and windy weekend which unfortunately kept us off the top of Mam Tor and Lose Hill! The breakfasts provided were excellent with a great choice of fruit, cereals and cooked breakfast with particularly nice scrambled eggs. The village of Castleton is just a short walk away across the fields or via the road and has many good pubs and there are numerous walks to take from the farm. We are all looking forward to returning again very soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitemeridian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
1.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
5.5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#1 of 13 in Castleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rushop Hall
Rushop Hall
#1 of 6 in Castleton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Swiss House B&B
Swiss House B&B
#4 of 13 in Castleton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunscar Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunscar Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dunscar Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Dunscar Farm Bed And Breakfast Castleton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing