We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swiss House B&B
Nearby Hotels
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$248
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
George Hotel(Hathersage)
$182
$173
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little John Hotel(Hathersage)
$90
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Maynard(Grindleford)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$137
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveler rating
265
44
4
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
265
44
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade granolapeak districtlovely ladiesbed breakfastcup of tealovely viewon arrivalmam tormountain bikingmuddy bootsfeel very welcomepowerful showertoastbulls headpeveril castlekipperswarm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 317 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was our second visit as we loved it so much the first time. We booked the same room again (9) for the character and fabulous views. The room was clean and comfortable again (there was even a decaff option provided with the other drinks in the room - hooray). Excellent en suite shower with plenty of hot water at all times.
We were welcomed with a cup of tea and delicious home made flapjack as we chatted about decent places to eat, visit and walk in the area.
The only negative is that the walls between rooms are very thin (we didn't notice this on our first visit, perhaps there was nobody in the room next door) but it was no worse than some other places we've stayed.
Breakfast was very tasty with lots of choice including some home made goodies.
We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments.
Sorry about the noise from room 8! When we decorate room 9 next time we'll look into getting some kind of sound-proofing put on that party wall. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our first visit to Castleton and so was unsure where to stay, however after booking Swiss House i could not have made a better choice, Martha and Mary (Sisters) make you feel welcome and so at home, we arrived mid afternoon and after being shown to our room (room 9) we were invited to the lounge for a welcomed cup of tea however got an extra bonus of some home made flap jack (very nice). Our room was on the top floor but dont let the sloping ceiling put you off as the views are fantastic and there is still plenty room around the bed etc..We stayed 4 nights and wished we could have stayed longer, the breakfast was lovely and certainly sets you up for the day. Martha and Mary will do anything for you and try and answer any questions as well as advise where best to eat in the evening etc... ( would recomend the Bull) however we ate in The Nags Head and The George and never had a bad meal but the Bull just topped the others, the Rose Cottage is also worth a day time visit too. Casteton is a lovely place with plenty of walks all around as well as the various caverns to explore. Thanks again Martha and Mary, will be back to see you soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 9 which has lovely views dont be put off by the sloping ceiling, nice bed and lovely shower.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you - I hope we'll see you again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Another great visit -thank you Martha and Mary. Swiss House was warm clean and welcoming. Great base for a walking break.breakfast was lovely especially the home made granola! Martha and Mary were very helpful in preparing our daughter's gluten free toast in the morning(we provided the bread) great family room that sleeps 4. hope to see you again soon

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 62MrsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

It was good to see you, and your delightful family, again.
I hope you'll come and see us again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have never been in the area before and after looking at some of the reviews thought we would book a two night stay. Photos of each room are accurate and not deceiving as some can be. We were offered a pot of tea on arrival which was served with freshly baked flapjacks. Delicious! The rooms were clean with immaculate white sheets and towels. Room 9 had terrific views through the velux window, of the hills in the distance, which you could view lying in bed! Nice to wake up and see snow on the top of the hills this morning! Breakfasts were lovely with the full range available - juices, cereal (I would recommend the Swiss House granola - scrumptious), full English, toast, fresh fruit. The works. The only thing missing was a fresh warm croissant but I won't complain about that. Castleton is an ideal place to stay for walks from the village or short drive out. It has small local shops for you browse around and a good selection of pubs, tea rooms. We ate at the Bulls Head which I would recommend - big portions!

Room Tip: Room 9 for a view of Mam Tor and the rolling hills through the velux window.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MistyPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for your comments - I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
We have thought about offering croissants but feel we offer plenty of choice if people want a light breakfast anyway. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

from the moment we walked in we were made welcome. the room was immaculate and the bed and breakfast was too. the breakfast was absolutely lovely and the staff friendly and chatted to you like you were friends.rooms were equiped with everything you need , warm and the bed linen extremely clean. castleton is a lovely place and everyone is friendly. some villagers had us in stitches and cant wait to go back again. lots of signed routes to take and plenty of off the track places which me and my husband went. we werent avid climbers or walkers and we had a great time so plenty for everyone of all capabilities. thank you to martha and mary and all the staff at the swiss. cant wait to return x

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanner r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you - your comments are much appreciated :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews