We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Weekend Away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiss House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swiss House B&B
Ranked #3 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“A Weekend Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I were bought a weekend away here as a Christmas Gift from one of our kids.
We love Castleton, and we travel here from Manchester quite often, but never have we thought about staying over night.
The Swiss House was clean, the management were warm and friendly, and the bed was comfortable, everything you need is in the room, we had room 8 which had a great view of the castle.
The Breakfast , well, the Breakfast is LEGENDARY! as was the advise when eating out, Martha and Mary recommended the Bulls Head , a pub which is about a 5 minute walk from the B&B, and you will pass about 12 other places to eat, I will tell you, It was the best advise, The meal both nights at The Bulls Head, was Absolutely Beautiful.
The prices for staying are reasonable and the experience for both myself and my wife was wonderful, the views of the Derbyshire countryside were breathtaking.

I feel that the core reason for us having a great stay in Castleton was purely down to the experience and friendly ness of the staff and management of the Swiss House.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a great view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
That is really kind and much appreciated. We have always tried to make Swiss House the sort of B&B we would want to stay in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    40
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
159
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just back from 2nd stay at swiss house.
High quality B&B, spotless clean, very welcoming and friendly, warm, homely and keen to make your stay comfortable.
Highly recommend it especially if you are keen walkers, out the door and into the hills, no driving required, 9 mile round stroll to Edale, Coopers Cafe,( another gem) via Loose Hill.Back over Mam Tor, Evening meal at The Bull, again very good then live music at the Nags Head.
A full weekend, Castleton is a gem to escape to, all this 16 miles or so from Sheffield, base your stay at Swiss House, you will be very comfortable, breakfast is a feast with plenty of choice too.
Thank you again Martha & Mary.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha H, Manager at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you, Nigel, for taking the time to write the review, It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was our second stay at this B & B and as ever was excellent. Mary and Martha are excellent hosts and your requests are dealt with efficiently. Room had a lovely view over the castle. Hope to stay again this year. If only all B&Bs were like this one.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha H, Manager at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are constantly looking for ways to improve but what we are doing seems to be going down well anyway!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked in for three nights between Christmas 2012 and the New Year and we welcomed very warmly on our arrival by Martha, who owns the accomodation with her sister Mary. We were offered tea and cakes at registration and immedialtely felt comfortable.
The bedroom was large with a six feet wide bed and good en suite facilities.
Breakfast was nade with locally sources produce and served to an excellent standard.
Martha dried out our very wet walking clothes in thier dry room overnight,
The guest house is located on the main street close to several good pubs and eateries.
We will definately go back again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidevanslichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha H, Manager at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We do try to make people feel at home!!
Happy New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Run by two very lovely ladies, this B&B was a real find. The location is excellent, being right in the heart of Castleton. Our room was very comfortable and warm (great as we stayed here in November), and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were delicious and there was lots of choice. Mary and Martha were very accommodating, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeeliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha H, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope we'll see you again in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Have just returned from a 2 day walking break in the Peak District and have stayed at the Swiss House again. We had a great time. It is warm, clean and ideally set up for a base to explore the spectacular scenery. The breakfast was brilliant- cooked to order. The swiss house granola was delicious. Martha was welcoming and friendly. Thank you ,we will definitely be back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 62MrsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha H, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments - much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I highly recommend this B&B. The owners are extremely friendly and welcoming. On arrival we were met with a lovely piece of flapjack and a cup of tea! Nice start thank you.

The room (5) was easily booked via the internet. It was clean, spacious, very comfortable and had a nice bath. Excellent for post-hill walking.

We travelled with friends, and were all accommodated at one table for breakfast. As already reported on this site the breakfasts are excellent, with plenty of choice and are cooked to order.

There is free wifi in the B&B, but this is limited to the guest lounge. This is a small limitation, but good to ensure your focus is on the hills and not on the internet.

Castleton has many bars and restaurants, which are generally all good. Well worth a visit...

Room Tip: Room 5 nice if you want a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pete0081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha H, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments!
As from 17 November the flapjack becomes 'Christmas flapjack'!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
4.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.4 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#1 of 13 in Castleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rushop Hall
Rushop Hall
#1 of 6 in Castleton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss House B&B

Property: Swiss House B&B
Address: Swiss House How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss House is a family run Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Castleton, in the Peak District National Park. Our B&B can sleep up to 20 people in 8 en-suite bedrooms. Our full English breakfast is, so we are told, just 'the best' with lots of local and home-made produce like British bacon, locally made sausage and black pudding (all from the butcher in Hope), and Seville orange marmalade, various jams and granola lovingly made by Martha!This is an ideal base for walking, climbing or sight seeing. We have plenty of off-road parking. Packed lunches are available and we have a drying room if the weather becomes inclement! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swiss House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss House B&B Castleton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing