We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sour faced barmaid”
Review of The Peak Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Peak Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We didn't stay overnight at the peasksbut we often travel up for the day and have popped into the peaks for a drink or two,went in today 3rd Aug and couldn't believe the sour faced barmaid who served us,she should not be in the service industry! good manners cost nothing but there was no please or thankyou,she was downright rude!we have been in here before and the landlady has been very pleasant,giving our dogs biscuits and passing the time of day very pleasantly but today was totally different,very sullen staff who shouildnt be serving customers

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank dianne1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick E, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2017

Hello.
Sorry to hear that you weren't entirely happy with your visit to The Peaks Inn.
Since you posted your your review, The Peaks has undergone a major overhaul in October 2014, and has changed back into it's original name of The Peak Hotel.
This impressive revamp has enhanced the quality of all decor both inside and out now making it the quirkiest and most fun gin and ale bars in the area, whilst in keeping with local traditions.
The Peak Hotel now boasts...
*Delicious home made food served all day everyday.
*Over fifty beautiful Gins from around Great Britain.
*Five award winning seasonal cask ales and a minimum of two ever changing craft beers.
*And of course four high quality en-suite four poster rooms.
I sincerely hope that you can call in again soon and see how a once less than appetising pub has become a thriving and fun pub for all the family.
Thank you for your review.
Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for The Peak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 275 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Had a nice pint, didn't stop for a meal but the barmaid was friendly and the beer garden was ok to sit in on a sunny day. The only reason not 5stars is the angle of the sun at tea time. The sun was angled directly into our eyes when sitting outside and it would be good if the owners could look at this?

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank skiesnpies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justustwoSheffield, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thanks for your kind comments, We're really glad you enjoyed your visit. As for the sun, I'm afraid the only guy who can do much about that needs to be contacted by kneeling with hands together, not on Trip Advisor! Seriously, we have two very large sun parasols at the west end of the garden which, if they're not up, can be raised at a moments notice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

just spent the last two nights at the peaks inn.
spotlessly clean room fantastic food and a brilliant saturday nights entertainment from from twelve strings duo.
thank you marie and craig and their very helpful staff


will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeyme402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justustwoSheffield, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thanks for your comments. We're really glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very accommodating hosts. We were there for a nearby wedding & they helped us with several extra needs we had, as it was our wedding anniversary as well. Nothing was too much trouble & always done with a smile & not just the landlady, but also the young lad who helped with our taxi & the sandwiches. Lovely couple of rooms quite spacious & high roofed, clean & comfortable. Really good breakfast too.

Room Tip: The Inn only has 4 bedrooms. Room 1 is a lovely double with a spa bath. Room 4 is a very nice twin r...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve18W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justustwoSheffield, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thanks for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you all and we're glad you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

A lovely spacious comfortable room with a fan for warmer nights, which was very handy. The hosts very friendly and I would definitely recommend staying here to any of my friends. We have even talked abut heading back there at Christmas to see the town lit up...we know where we'll stay!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Blue0zziekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justustwoSheffield, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thanks Guys. You were a pleasure to look after. You're welcome back anytime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Beautiful place to stay! The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a great stay here and will definitely be coming back again. The staff were more than helpful and very friendly too. Thanks so much for looking after us

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justustwoSheffield, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Hi Jayne, Thanks for your kind words. We'd love to see you again anytime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We thought we would try here as it looked nice and it was inside decor wise.I ordered a pasta dish which was chewy not done and not good worst i'v tasted to be honest ,my husband had gammon and chips both not nice ,staff not very cheerful atmosphere the same heard a member of staff saying it had been dead all day I wonder why so really no excuse for the food been so bad .wouldn't call in again and wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick E, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2017

Hello.
Sorry to hear that you weren't entirely happy with your visit to The Peaks Inn.
Since you posted your your review, The Peaks has undergone a major overhaul in October 2014, and has changed back into it's original name of The Peak Hotel.
This impressive revamp has enhanced the quality of all decor both inside and out now making it the quirkiest and most fun gin and ale bars in the area, whilst in keeping with local traditions.
The Peak Hotel now boasts...
*Delicious home made food served all day everyday.
*Over fifty beautiful Gins from around Great Britain.
*Five award winning seasonal cask ales and a minimum of two ever changing craft beers.
*And of course four high quality en-suite four poster rooms.
I sincerely hope that you can call in again soon and see how a once less than appetising pub has become a thriving and fun pub for all the family.
Thank you for your review.
Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
5.0 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
222 reviews
4.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
0.1 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#4 of 13 in Castleton
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peak Hotel

Address: How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England (Formerly The Peaks Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Peaks Hotel Castleton
The Peak Hotel Castleton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing