We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing wrong but nothing particularly right either”
Review of Buddy's - CLOSED

Buddy's
Cuisines: Diner, American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nothing wrong but nothing particularly right either”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

An American style diner in Castleton is a strange choice but it looks well done as you walk in, enough to tempt you to sit down. But as is often the case the toilets appear to be an after-thought, all clean but really shabby and untidy. And this tells you everything you need to know, because if the attention to detail is lacking here then it's probably also lacking when it comes to other things - like the quality of the ingredients.
So buddy's is a case of all show and little go with average catering style burgers, hot-dogs and fries at average prices. Nothing that wrong but also absolutely no reason to go back or recommend it to others. Get rid of all the Americana, serve a really good burger in a simple cafe style, and concentrate on getting all the little things right.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    13
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Friday evening treat”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Decided to have an afternoon in Castleton followed by evening food - we knew of Buddys as it had been recommended by a friend of my daughters and we weren't disappointed. The food was freshly prepared and was piping hot when served - we certainly didn't go hungry! Great little place with fab ice cream/milkshakes. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dotty936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing icecreams!!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

took my daughter here for a treat on a sunday afternoon....the icecream selection is to die for!!! I had an icecream banana sundae (sorry if thats not the title of it) but it was scrummy.....great esspresso coffee...what a treat.....would definately go back again......:)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScarlettRoseCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“No complaints really enjoyed it!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Buddy's isn't the sort of place you'd expect to find in a place like Castleton but we were delighted when we stumbled across this one damp Saturday afternoon. We've done the real American diner experience in the states previously but places like this are scarce over here so we started off with just shakes but in the end ended up ordering burgers and floats too! The shakes are excellent; the burgers very good. They also offer some man v food challenges for the insane/brave which we didn't attempt but did have the joy of watching 2 people spectacularly fail theirs!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lachbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Desserts only.”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great place if you want desserts, but don't bother with the lackluster hotmeals. Cracking ice creams but poor hotdogs and burgers. Get rid of the meals, concentrate on those ice creams and shakes - people would be queing out of your door.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddy's also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing