We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice walk.”

Ridge Walk Mam Tor to Losehill
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
rochester, kent
Level Contributor
408 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Nice walk.”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very busy. Didn't like the hard rock slabs to walk on. Fantastic views, but we preferred to cut the walk short and walk down and around mam tor and thru winnats, which was spectacular

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marcovanbatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    97
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
WALES
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Walk up mam tor”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

It was a very hard walk but the views were magnificent once we got to the top. We loved the whole walk and the old road that has been in a landslide so can't be used any more.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NUTTYCHICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This walk is great for seasoned walkers and complete novices. The walk is relatively easy and certainly worth it for the fantastic views on offer. Signposts point out which way to walk and there are usually other walkers along the route making it pretty safe. Paragliders can often be seen circling around the peak and walkers get to experience the unique view of actually watching from above. It was lovely eating lunch with such fantastic 360° views but watch out for the Sheep that may be cheeky enough to sneak in for a bite! In summary, it's a lovely place to walk, you'll get great views of the valleys below and even if you're not too fit, a slow, steady pace shouldn't be too taxing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristopherWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely walk from caslteton”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great views on a clear day of both Edale and Hope Valleys. Park your car in Castleton and walk up past 3 caverns to Mam Tor. Please do not walk up the eroded path on the face of Mam Tor, walk 300 mts up the road to the 'stepped path'

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RodGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Mam Tor - Height without Hurt”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

What a brilliant place to squander a little time, a lot of puff and feast your eyes. The choice is yours to start one end of the ridge or the other. But we decided upon Mam Tor the mother mountain. Don't be put off the steep incline. Take your time. Stop a while and start to appreciate this magnificent Pennine setting. On reaching the top within half an hour to be comfortable, 15 minute if you are showing off, you will be treated to a view across much of the region. the villages of Castleton and Hope below you and Kinder Scout to the other side. Having looked in every direction you can now set out across the ridge to your eventual target of Lose Hill (pronounced Loose I am told) If you have a good map with you - and you always should have a map - you will see that there are adjacent routes off the ridge should you tire or the weather change for the worse. We managed the whole walk with so much gusto and enthusiasm that we decided to go even further. We went on to conquer Win Hill. An even greater feast for the eyes and we still got home in time for tea. Or was that a pint of local ale? H'mmm. Enjoy but be safe.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ridge Walk Mam Tor to Losehill also viewed

Hathersage, Hope Valley
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Ridge Walk Mam Tor to Losehill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing