We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy walking near Castleton”

Ridge Walk Mam Tor to Losehill
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Easy walking near Castleton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Pick up a map from the visitors' centre in Castleton, and go walking on the ridges around the village. The paths are good and much of the walk isn't particularly steep, and it would be difficult to get lost as you can see Castleton pretty much constantly.

We were lucky to go at the start of May, when it was relatively warm. It was mostly t-shirt weather, except when the wind came up.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank SimonC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    93
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Tainan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

When I can be bothered in the Summer I'll do this as part of a 25 mile walk, usually from Chapel en le Frith, round Castleton/Cave Dale, over the ridge, Edale and home via Kinder. On a lovely day, its stunning but crowded by tourists. On a wet day, its still a good, simple walk just wearing appropriate clothing, I've been in full waterproofs and seen people walking in jeans coming the other way, common sense people! The views are stunning and you can get photos in all directions, one of the best bits of this part of Derbyshire.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chapeltom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great but crowded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The whole point of these reviews is of course that they make people do the same things instead of finding their own places. The Mam Tor ridge walk is very good, but so is much else in either the Castleton or the Edale valleys - and you often run into less people there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frinton on sea
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“my favourite walk in the peak district”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you enjoy a ridge walk that is not too scary but with excellent all round views this takes a lot of beating. Views over two valleys and across to the high moors. Fit in the extra walk to Win Hill if you are really energetic to get the full story, catch the bus back to Castleton or enjoy a stroll by the river in the valley bottom.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank oldfrintonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Exhilirating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We did a walk of over 6 miles on the Easter weekend starting in Castleton, through Cave Dale with a great view of Peveril Castle, along the Limestone Way, round to Mam Tor and then along the ridge to Hollins Cross and back down to Castleton. We couldn't believe how much snow there still was. It had drifted so thick in places that we had to walk on it over several stiles and walls. The ridge itself from Mam Tor is spectacular with fantastic views, and as our guide book said it was certainly exhilirating, but the biting wind made it very parky. We would certainly love to do the walk again in warmer weather. The whole area around here has so much to offer.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RedJezandLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ridge Walk Mam Tor to Losehill also viewed

Hathersage, Hope Valley
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Ridge Walk Mam Tor to Losehill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing