We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst pub food I have ever had...”
Review of The Peak Hotel

The Peak Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Restaurants in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worst pub food I have ever had...”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We popped in here for a quick bite to eat after an exhausting bike ride, and I was prepared to eat almost anything so we thought we'd give this place a try. Looking at the menu our expectations were firmly set on simple pub food. However our low expectations were still not met.

The veggie burger was flaccid, lukewarm and covered with vinegary salsa. It was also served in a cheap bun covered with large amounts of bright yellow margarine. Sent it back and they scraped off the marg and sent it back out. My father had a panini (BBQ chicken and bacon I think) which was similarly of poor quality which he couldn't eat. The chips tasted like they had been cooked in the same oil they cook fish in and were highly unpleasant.

When complaints were made the young girl serving just shrugged them off - and with no intention of returning we couldn't be bothered to push it.

We weren't being fussy - the food here simply is overpriced, poor quality and horrible. There are plenty of nicer pubs in Castleton so my advice is to avoid.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Brightfamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick E, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2017
Hello.
Sorry to hear that you weren't entirely happy with your visit to The Peaks Inn.
Looking at your review and the description of the menu, I think it is from before I took over.
The Peaks has undergone a major overhaul in October 2014, and has changed back into it's original name of The Peak Hotel.
This impressive revamp has enhanced the quality of all decor both inside and out now making it the quirkiest and most fun gin and ale bars in the area, whilst in keeping with local traditions.
The Peak Hotel now boasts...
*Delicious home made food served all day everyday.
*Over fifty beautiful Gins from around Great Britain.
*Five award winning seasonal cask ales and a minimum of two ever changing craft beers.
*And of course four high quality en-suite four poster rooms.
I sincerely hope that you can call in again soon and see how a once less than appetising pub has become a thriving and fun pub for all the family.
Thank you for your review.
Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    47
    11
    10
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and great service ”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Visited today and have to say it was a lovely pub with a great menu. Our food was very nice and reasonably priced, the staff behind the bar were very welcoming and friendly. Will defiantly visit again!!!

Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Just got back from a fantastic weekend at the peaks inn castleton . The bedroom was clean, spacious , bed was comfy with luxury bedding, and those little touches tea, coffee biscuits, bathroom again was very clean spacious, fluffy towels, good powerful shower and those little touches shampoos, soaps etc , the pub was nice staff friendly & welcoming Even the top chef 10 out of 10 for the food well done the peaks in castleton , we will be definitely going back

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service.”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We were drawn to this place yesterday for lunch because of the 'dogs and muddy boots welcome' sign as we had both. Impressed with the friendly manner of the barman then barmaid later. We had warm ciabattas with chips and salad, both were delicious, especially the chips. Maggie, our dog was made very welcome with doggy treats from behind the bar too. On the whole, good quality home cooked food, lovely, amenable staff and great to be able to bring the dog in too. Thank you!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank vicandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent burgers!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Management at this establishment must have changed. I had a great burger with a good pint at a reasonable price. Good value in the Peaks!

Helpful?
Thank ehudphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peak Hotel also viewed

 
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to The Peak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing