We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal and great service ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peak Hotel

The Peak Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Restaurants in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and great service ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Visited today and have to say it was a lovely pub with a great menu. Our food was very nice and reasonably priced, the staff behind the bar were very welcoming and friendly. Will defiantly visit again!!!

Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    40
    9
    10
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Just got back from a fantastic weekend at the peaks inn castleton . The bedroom was clean, spacious , bed was comfy with luxury bedding, and those little touches tea, coffee biscuits, bathroom again was very clean spacious, fluffy towels, good powerful shower and those little touches shampoos, soaps etc , the pub was nice staff friendly & welcoming Even the top chef 10 out of 10 for the food well done the peaks in castleton , we will be definitely going back

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We were drawn to this place yesterday for lunch because of the 'dogs and muddy boots welcome' sign as we had both. Impressed with the friendly manner of the barman then barmaid later. We had warm ciabattas with chips and salad, both were delicious, especially the chips. Maggie, our dog was made very welcome with doggy treats from behind the bar too. On the whole, good quality home cooked food, lovely, amenable staff and great to be able to bring the dog in too. Thank you!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank vicandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent burgers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Management at this establishment must have changed. I had a great burger with a good pint at a reasonable price. Good value in the Peaks!

Helpful?
Thank ehudphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
voddiegal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible service and loos”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have a family outing to Castleton at Christmas every year and know the village very well.

This year we were a party of five, all adults. We stopped just for a drink and a warm. Pub wasn't busy but waited ages to be served. During the afternoon I visited the Ladies, all I can say is that they were in an appalling state of despair - out of the three cubicles, two had 'out of order' signs and the other one had a broken seat. In fact it was just resting on the pan, both bolts completely destroyed.

The ladies weren't particularly clean, either.

When I complained to the staff, they really couldn't care less, and the barman blamed a group of ladies who'd been in the previous night!

My partner visited the gents and reported the same state of disrepair, again staff disinterested.

I have visited this pub many times in the past but will be avoiding it from now on.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank voddiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justustwoSheffield, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your visit. I received your complaint from our staff but, as you will appreciate, there's very little we can do to get the toilets repaired in the middle of Christmas week as no one is working. My staff were correct in informing you that the toilets were vandalised by an over zealous group of party goers the previous night. The toilets are being attended to today now that we can get a workman to come in.
As to your allegations about the business of the pub and speed of service, you are being disingenuous. The pub has been very busy every day, including your visit, and this is the reason why you may very well have had a wait to be served. By all means report the truth, we always welcome that but but don't lie to embellish your report please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peak Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Peak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing