We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely lovely !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ye Olde Nags Head

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ye Olde Nags Head
Ranked #5 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford
1 review
“Absolutely lovely !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

We came with an open mind following some very mixed reviews on this site but were delighted with the lovely room (Howden). It was very clean and very comfortable indeed. One little gripe was there was nowhere to hang your towels in the bathroom, or the bedroom for that matter. Having said that, our towels & linen were changed daily which was lovely. The staff were very accommodating and we wanted for nothing. Breakfast was a gastronomic 'belly buster'! But, when you're heading up Mam Tor, it's a must! We did not eat our evening meals at Ye Olde Nags Head, purely because the open fires weren't lit. Other establishments beckoned us with glorious blazing fires which were welcome on the chilly evenings. Overall, we were delighted with the hotel and Castleton itself and would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M4Looby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    110
    31
    14
    17
See reviews for
43
227
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2010

Our room was fine and everything worked perfectly. The pub downstairs is very cosy especially when they light the fire place, but the staff could be more friendly and helpful. The food is pretty standard greasy pub grub. I would recommend you eat at some of the neighbouring pubs - the food is better though not asingle waiter/waitress at any of the pubs we tried in Castleton (Bulls Head and The Castle) understands the concept of customer service. A shame, but I suppose that is what happens in a town as touristy as Castleton.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bunss24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

had a fantastic weekend,very good value for money.nice and friendly atmosphere,very good food and very well presented. room had four poster bed and very comfortable.lots of good pubs in the village and plenty of shops .we will definatly be back.
Mandy & Ian H.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxandrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2010

We booked before reading reviews on Ye olde nags head,and were abit apprehensive about what we expected on arrival especially after so many nagative things were said about the hotel. We need not of been as we were greeted with a smile and friendly staff who were very welcoming. the room (peveril) was very good clean and tidy. food was very good and the situation of the hotel for many lovely walks was ideal. overall i would recomend the nags head for anyone who enjoys food, drink, a relaxed atmosphere and lovely walks and for guests that havent enjoyed it i wonder were else they have stayed at this price and recieved better.

mr & mrs gilboy

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knickers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

Apparently the price we booked online, paid a deposit on and confirmed by email was incorrect, some problem with the server, they told us when we arrived on easter weekend that either they will refund us and we can go home!! or we must pay another £85 to stay!!!! Firstly we had come by train and we had return tickets for 2 days time, so it was not a case of just popping home! They were rude, no compensation, would not uphold our reservation (its not our fault if they had a problem with the server!), after being reduced to tears asking what they expected us to do, to which she replied 'not our problem, cant comment on that', we paid the extra £85 as everywhere else would be booked easter weekend! After this awful service, we had no towels in our room, it was dirty and the breakfasts were poor with a long wait on orders!! If a hotel cannot even have the decency to uphold a customer's reservation what does that say about how it is run? I will be following this up under the trades description act, but if you dont want the hassle of not even knowing if your reservation will be upheld at the price you have paid then do not go to this hotel, and even you risk it, it is certainly not worth these prices, very shabby and poor!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuddyPiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2010

I booked this hotel for my girlfriends birthday weekend. Upon our arrival, the room was not ready, with builders finishing the bathroom. This would normally have been a problem, however, the staff were apologetic, friendly, and helpful, giving us a free bottle of wine of our choice, and a couple of free drinks on top while the staff were getting it ready. The room was clean, tidy, and reasonably well appointed. The new bathroom was lovely, and I can't wait to see it fully refurbished. The food was of a good high quality, was plentiful, and was served in a timely manner. We found the staff to be helpful, friendly, and welcoming. The owner was chatty, and was highly accomodating in pleasing everyone who entered, it was nice for him to find us the night before we checked out to wish us a safe journey. We cannot wait to book another stay in the Nags Head, it beats big chains hands down!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonandclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spalding
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

Stayed at this hotel a couple of days ago. Only stay at this hotel if you like Fawlty Towers standards of service. After a day walking the hills I was looking forward to a nice long soak in a hot bath. However there was no hot water! My wife had to boil kettles of water just to wash her hair in the hand basin. When complaining about this to the totally unsympathetic staff we were told 'there's plenty of hot water down here'. During our discussion his attitude was that as he had hot water on the ground floor we must clearly be wrong in not getting hote water on the second floor.

The food served at dinner appeared to be nothing like that suggested on the web site. They have clearly changed the previous chef for some one who isn't.

The following morning brought further 'hilarity' when the breakfast chef failed to arrive to and the sole member of staff had to act as barman, receptionist, waiter and breakfast cook. He managed none of these roles proficiently.

In summary do not stay at this hotel unles you enjoy a very quirky sense of fun!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeccu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
1.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#1 of 13 in Castleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss House B&B
Swiss House B&B
#3 of 13 in Castleton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Nags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Nags Head

Property: Ye Olde Nags Head
Address: Cross Street, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Nags Head 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde Nags Head is a traditional 17th-century Coaching Inn which has recently undergone a stylish refurbishment and now offers the perfect blend of contemporary and traditional dining. With 10 stunning en-suite rooms, some with Spa Bath en-suite, Ye Olde Nags Head is the ideal weekend retreat. Guests can expect special touches such as a complimentary bottle of wine in each room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Nags Head Hotel Castleton
Ye Olde Nags Head Castleton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing