We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Ye Olde Nags Head

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ye Olde Nags Head
Ranked #5 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just returned from a weekend break at the nags head. Have stayed here before and myself and my husband couldn't say anything negative about both our visits.Nothing is too much trouble the owners and staff are great,as are the rooms. we have eaten here a number of times and never had a bad meal. would recommend the steak special.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LRafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    119
    33
    14
    17
See reviews for
46
243
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Called at the Nags Head for lunch/tea. I had the meat and potato pie, chips, mushy peas and gravy, I have to say, it was the best, succulent steak, good short crust pastry etc. There was plenty of meat in this pie and I have to say....scrumptious ! Everything on the plate was to my liking, I don't often say that. Well done to Ye old Nags Head, we have been visiting Castleton for years and shamefully, this was our first visit......We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield,uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Decent selection of ales and fab menu. Good mix of atmosphere with pub on one side and a cosy eating area on the other. We ordered the sausage and mash which was gorgeous- it was nice to be able to pick the sausage, the sauce and type of mash. For the price, a third sausage would have been nice, but this may have been because we had walked up a massive appetite!

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to any other visitors to Castleton!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkmarmite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here in July of 13.

What a charming, atmospheric place! Loved everything about it.

Parking in the village was a breeze.

Check in was fast and friendly. Pub is full of character. Up the winding stairs to our two reserved rooms, both of which were quite unexpectedly well appointed, updated, and very nice. Bathrooms were superb.
This was one of those impulsive stays unplanned during our drive across England, and Ye Old Nags Head was a surprise in how nice everything and everyone was. No research--we just drove into Castleton looking for a place--and they had available rooms. So glad we chose it.

Breakfast was delicious and fresh.

The next time we return to the Peak District we will absolutely stay at Ye Old Nags Head again, and for much longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have been to the Nags Head a few times to eat and it has definitely improved over the past couple of years.
There is a good range of beers and the food is good quality pub-type and well presented.
If possible, sit outside as you get great views across Derbyshire towards Mam Tor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We had a fantastic overnight stay at Ye Olde Nags Head in Castleton nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were very helpful, we only stayed the one night in the Peveril room but we were surprised to find a complimentary bottle of red wine waiting for us and two bottles of fresh spring water in the room as well.
After having a full day out we retired to our room for a short kip before going out to one of the other pubs for a meal it turned out not to be a good idea and we returned back to the Nags Head and tried their Mulled Cider & hot Mince Pies they were delicious and we both sat by the log fire relaxing with the friendly locals.
There was ample food for breakfast and once again the service was excellent I had scrambled egg and my wife had the full english both of us were very happy with our meals and the young man who looked after us kept making sure everything was fine with our food.
We will definitely be booking again after Xmas as they are having a special offer of three nights for the price of two which is a real bargain!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Peveril room and you have a fantastic view of the local church and Peveril castle i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pappillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Booked this hotel the day before and was very happy.
The hotel is cosy, clean and the staff very friendly.
Breakfast choice was great, I don't particularly enjoy a full English so usually end up having the continental breakfast but here there were different hot choices and was very nice that we had an evening meal here to which was exceptional.
The room was very clean and nicely decorated and there was also a good choice of tea, coffee, biscuits and even a small bottle of wine.
We had a great two days stay, would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mek1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
5.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
391 reviews
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#2 of 13 in Castleton
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
0.2 mi away
Swiss House B&B
Swiss House B&B
#1 of 13 in Castleton
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Nags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Nags Head

Property: Ye Olde Nags Head
Address: Cross Street, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Nags Head 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde Nags Head is a traditional 17th-century Coaching Inn which has recently undergone a stylish refurbishment and now offers the perfect blend of contemporary and traditional dining. With 10 stunning en-suite rooms, some with Spa Bath en-suite, Ye Olde Nags Head is the ideal weekend retreat. Guests can expect special touches such as a complimentary bottle of wine in each room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Nags Head Hotel Castleton
Ye Olde Nags Head Castleton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing