We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yearly visits” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ye Olde Nags Head

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ye Olde Nags Head
Ranked #5 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Yearly visits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Nags Head has become a firm favourite with us for the past 4 years. We are group of 3 couples one of whom celebrates his birthday there each year and refuses to go anywhere else, but we are all happy with that!
Staff couldn't be more helpful and nothing is too much trouble, food good as is the selection of beers according to the men, although a lack of Timothy Taylors this year, made their bottom lips pop out for all of 5 minutes until they found the Doom Bar instead!
For the ladies good choice and quality of wine, of which we had plenty!
The rooms vary in size but most are four poster double beds, we always have the Lady Bower, Winhill and Pindale all different with their own qualities and plenty of space.
Breakfast so much choice and really well cooked with amazing Black Pudding.
See you there next year....

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Superior room you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    110
    30
    14
    17
See reviews for
42
227
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We visited this place for lunch at the beginning of July en-route to Hartington village.

We found the staff extremely friendly and helpful. We took our pet whippet in with us and he was welcomed too!

The bar meal was gorgeous and a very good portion size. There were quite a few people in for lunchtime but we didn't have to wait too long for the food.

I can't comment on the accommodation as we only called in for lunch. I have already recommended this place to friends and family. Will definitely call in again if in Castleton.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbiegirlWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

booked in the Peveral (?) room up a couple of flights of stairs - a cracking view up into the hills and a lovely but small bathroom

a great selection of hand pulled beers & ciders and although we didnt have an evening meal there the food we saw looked really nice.

We did have breakfast and what a delight that was ..... and i forgot my phone charger which they posted back out to me

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited the ye olde nags head on a Friday evening, we were able to find seats and ordered at the bar, the staff were friendly and efficient both my husband and I ordered the fish & chips with mushy peas and tartar sauce, no sooner had we ordered than the food was with us piping hot and freshly cooked, it was delicious. Everyone around us seemed to enjoy their food I think to only reason anybody would leave anything was because they were full rather than not enjoyed the food, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetcheeks_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rugeley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

have just returned from a two night stay at ye olde nags head.we stayed in the rivelin room which is front facing. the room was a bit small and there was a bit of noise from bar downstairs and surprisingly busy road outside however this did not distract from the overall experience. room was very clean and most made of space available. breakfast was very good and very big lasts all day.! all of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. we ate in at night too and the food is good . youre basic pub grub but done well and reasonably priced. will definateley go back again but will probably go for a bigger room next time. the village of castleton is extremely pretty and the walks in the surrounding areas are breathtaking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALES
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the end of may. It was a lovely old fashioned pub and the rooms were lovely and clean on arrival. We had the twin room, but most of the rooms are four poster.There was tea and coffee and biscuits and also a small bottle of complimentary wine and two bottles of water. The bathroom had toiletries so if you forgot your own there was no need to worry. There was a good choice of food on offer and everything we tried was lovely and hot. There are plenty of good walks around castleton and we were very lucky to have gorgeous weather for the whole weekend. There are a few pubs right on the doorstep if you fancy a change.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NUTTYCHICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent two nights here and loved it. We stayed in Pindale and thought the overall decor and ambience was lovely. The food was very good and reasonably priced and the derbyshire breakfast lasted us all day

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank married64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
1.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
0.0 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#2 of 13 in Castleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss House B&B
Swiss House B&B
#3 of 13 in Castleton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Nags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Nags Head

Property: Ye Olde Nags Head
Address: Cross Street, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Hotel Class:4 star — Ye Olde Nags Head 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde Nags Head is a traditional 17th-century Coaching Inn which has recently undergone a stylish refurbishment and now offers the perfect blend of contemporary and traditional dining. With 10 stunning en-suite rooms, some with Spa Bath en-suite, Ye Olde Nags Head is the ideal weekend retreat. Guests can expect special touches such as a complimentary bottle of wine in each room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Nags Head Hotel Castleton
Ye Olde Nags Head Castleton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing