We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and welcoming” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint and welcoming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile


Smashing little pub in a great location in Castletown where my husband and I enjoyed a lovely visit.
Very friendly and great service
Lovely people too
A great time had by all
Food a delight with plenty of choice

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    118
    60
    28
    17
See reviews for
49
191
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Thankfully we only booked one night accommodation, we wouldn't have stayed for two!
We attempted to order a drink, before 11 o'clock in the evening and were ignored by the barmaid, the duty manager came from the back room to serve us and was reprimanded by the barmaid for his actions! We took our drinks outside and were plunged into darkness and the doors slammed shut.. She knew we were there, but seemed to be in such a foul mood, she didn't care. We were an inconvenience to her.
We expressed our dissatisfaction to the manager, and were met with such rudeness from the barmaid. Laughing and sneering in a customers face is far from perfect customer care.
We felt completely humiliated and embarrassed.
The rooms themselves were adequate, but grossly overpriced. I'm sure there are better and cheaper places to stay in Castleton than this.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carole266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
We are sorry that your recent visit to The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton was not to your satisfaction. We appreciate your feedback which will help us to improve our service, and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Castleton hotels

north wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Arrived after a drive from Wales very small car park just managed to squeeze in, would be a problem at a busy time.Nice big room double bed and a bed settee big beam lot of dust as very hard reach good size bathroom . Breakfast ok toast and coffee fruit , had dinner on the first very average lamb very fatty, chicken ok was asked if I wanted chunky chips just a small portion in a coffee mug which had been standing for some time. Ok for a short break

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charleslloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Wasn't sure what to expect as there are good and bad reviews here mainly regarding the rooms. We were given the keys to room 12 by a very friendly girl. It was lovely. Proper sized bath. Very clean and views of the Dales and the street below. Slightly noisy at night as Lorries seem to use Castleton as a cut through(never see them in the day time bizzarely!) But then we had the window open so...
Changed our mind at the last minute and decided to eat in restaurant. The food was amazing. I had the pork belly with sweet potato, pear black pudding and ginger beer gravy. It was one of the finest plates of food I've ever had. My wife's dish was just as good.
The service is excellent and you feel as if they really want to make you happy.
We will be returning!

Room Tip: Room Twelve!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boatie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

On arrival our room was not ready as we did got there at 12 o'clock . We decided to have a couple off drinks in the bar , the staff were very friendly it was not long until our room was ready ,room 4 the room was clean and spacious , the bathroom looked like it had been modernized ,overall we were pleased with our room. We did have breakfast and evening meal in the hotel and found the food to be excellent and plenty of it . We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheRays04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I've passed through Castleton a number of occasions with my job and always thought that on a day off I would go and visit this lovely place. So, today my wife and I did. After a nice stroll around we decided to end our visit with a drink in the castle. After waiting at the bar for around 3 minutes to be served we both had a glass of wine, 1 white and 1 red. The white, not a problem, the red looked fine until I got in real light, it had what I can only describe as a oily scum on top, I took it back and the girl behind the bar changed it straight away, when I got the second glass outside to what I can only describe as a mess, tables dirty, etc, that I noticed this glass was just about as bad as the first. Yes I should have gone back again but by this time I'd had enough. The castle was recommended to me but something seems to have gone amiss between my friends visit and ours. Sorry but we will not be returning to the castle.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pablo-sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Castle in Castleton was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

As regular visitors to Castleton & having stayed at The Castle on 2 previous occasions we decided to return with our friends for a 1 night stay. We were aware our room (no.17) allocation was an accessible room having booked last minute, for the price we paid we left feeling extremely disappointed; , the toilet seat was badly stained, toilet roll holder broken, carpet dirty & room unclean (the mirror & behind tv had definately not been cleaned for some time). We suggested eating in the restaurant having read some good recent reviews & sat down with our friends after a hard days walking, our experience was one of huge disappointment, one of our party ordered the sausage & mash & when it arrived we all gasped as he presented with a plate of mash with 3 charred black sausages on top, it beggers belief how the chef found it acceptable to send the plate out of the kitchen (can only imagine chef had fallen asleep & left the sausages under the grill), my steak wasn't any better, arriving minus the chips ! , completely inedible & tough as old boots, the onion rings were clap cold inside & had to be returned, in all honesty what was meant to be a relaxing meal was one of complete embarrasment. Overall the management need to address lots of issues with this hotel & have to agree with other reviewers, it is purely the location of The Castle & the fact that Castleton itself is a gem that ensures the rooms are filled, we will not be returning until these issues have been addressed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has had a thorough clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeedsDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied, and we have replied to you personally about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
1.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Address: Castle Street | Castle Street, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Peak District, Innkeeper's Lodge in Castleton occupies a magical spot in a beautiful corner of Derbyshire.Nestled amongst the hills of Hope Valley, and surrounded by stark limestone crags, wild moors, sheer rock edges and intriguing caves, it's clear to see why Castleton is known as the honey-pot of the Peak District.A coaching inn since the 1800s, The Castle is tucked underneath haunted Peveril Castle, from which it takes its name. Country pubs don't come much cosier. Here you can refuel with heart-warming pub-food, well-kept cask ales and well-chosen wines, before retiring to one of the comfy, characterful rooms.The Castle is close to four show caverns, where you can explore vaulted chambers, bottomless pits, gemstone mines and underground canals via boat. There's plenty more to see and do nearby, with some of the country's best footpaths winding through the stunning scenery of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castleton
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing