We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I've passed through Castleton a number of occasions with my job and always thought that on a day off I would go and visit this lovely place. So, today my wife and I did. After a nice stroll around we decided to end our visit with a drink in the castle. After waiting at the bar for around 3 minutes to be served we both had a glass of wine, 1 white and 1 red. The white, not a problem, the red looked fine until I got in real light, it had what I can only describe as a oily scum on top, I took it back and the girl behind the bar changed it straight away, when I got the second glass outside to what I can only describe as a mess, tables dirty, etc, that I noticed this glass was just about as bad as the first. Yes I should have gone back again but by this time I'd had enough. The castle was recommended to me but something seems to have gone amiss between my friends visit and ours. Sorry but we will not be returning to the castle.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pablo-sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Castle in Castleton was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    119
    60
    28
    17
See reviews for
48
199
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

As regular visitors to Castleton & having stayed at The Castle on 2 previous occasions we decided to return with our friends for a 1 night stay. We were aware our room (no.17) allocation was an accessible room having booked last minute, for the price we paid we left feeling extremely disappointed; , the toilet seat was badly stained, toilet roll holder broken, carpet dirty & room unclean (the mirror & behind tv had definately not been cleaned for some time). We suggested eating in the restaurant having read some good recent reviews & sat down with our friends after a hard days walking, our experience was one of huge disappointment, one of our party ordered the sausage & mash & when it arrived we all gasped as he presented with a plate of mash with 3 charred black sausages on top, it beggers belief how the chef found it acceptable to send the plate out of the kitchen (can only imagine chef had fallen asleep & left the sausages under the grill), my steak wasn't any better, arriving minus the chips ! , completely inedible & tough as old boots, the onion rings were clap cold inside & had to be returned, in all honesty what was meant to be a relaxing meal was one of complete embarrasment. Overall the management need to address lots of issues with this hotel & have to agree with other reviewers, it is purely the location of The Castle & the fact that Castleton itself is a gem that ensures the rooms are filled, we will not be returning until these issues have been addressed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has had a thorough clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeedsDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied, and we have replied to you personally about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

It was our anniversary on Wednesday and we wanted to see the Garland ceremony which takes place every year on 29th May and booked into the Innkeepers Lodge and on arrival we were greeted very warmly by the staff on reception who were most helpful and we booked dinner later that evening. We went out to watch the ceremony which was most unusual but very enjoyable and then back for dinner which was excellent, well served and very tasty, the room was very comfortable and clean and all the staff very pleasant and helpful, which resulted in a really enjoyable break in excellent surroundings.

Room Tip: Go for rooms 7 to 14 which are in a separate annex across the Car Park as these are a lot more quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanyJuannaJAN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I booked a room for 2 nights for my wife's 30th and my 7 month old baby. Unfortunately my daughter was extremely ill cutting short our stay at the Castle. In the brief time we where there, the service from all the staff, especially the management was outstanding. They were extremely sympathetic and went out there way to comfort my baby and deal with all our annoying requests. I will definitely be booking this hotel again which welcomed us with live music and great food as well as being in a perfect location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolvereeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge, Castleton a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2014

my husband and i had a lovley time here in this lovley part of countryside although the weather was not upto scratch the the staff made us feel special and the rooms were clean and soundproof and the breakfast was excellent. overall trip wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Group of 8 of us visited for 3 nights in May and had a really good stay.

We were there for mountain biking in the Peak District and this was a really good spot for exploring the area.

We had a mix of rooms in the pub and in the annex. All worked well for us being clean, spacious and generally well appointed. Only slight disappointment was that we paid for twin rooms and in reality they were doubles with a sofa bed as the second bed and for the price you pay I would expect two proper beds.

This said breakfast was great, staff very friendly and beer was excellent.

Very good place to stop in the Peaks.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RPAPKPMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Castle Hotel for two nights. Our rooms were in the annex which was a little disappointing as I was hoping for a haunted room! It ended up being great anyway as the room was spacious with great bathroom and corner bath. Rooms clean and well kept. We found the bed a little uncomfortable, but we put that down to our awesome bed at home, rather than it being 'that' bad. It didn't cause any loss of sleep with us being so tired from walking! Also it was a little dark, due to it being on the ground floor it wasn't always appropriate to have the curtains and window wide open, which we probably would have if it were on a second floor (again not really a lot the hotel can do about this).

Breakfast, although not cooked, was brilliant. Great selection, fry up not needed!

We had a meal in the pub, haddock and chips, which was probably the nicest battered fish I have ever eaten. Batter was unbelievable!

Overall a great, friendly hotel for a good price. You would have to be ultra picky to not enjoy your time here. Next time I will ask for a spooky room!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank st3v3fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
367 reviews
5.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
378 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bamford
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
366 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Address: Castle Street | Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Peak District, Innkeeper's Lodge in Castleton occupies a magical spot in a beautiful corner of Derbyshire.Nestled amongst the hills of Hope Valley, and surrounded by stark limestone crags, wild moors, sheer rock edges and intriguing caves, it's clear to see why Castleton is known as the honey-pot of the Peak District.A coaching inn since the 1800s, The Castle is tucked underneath haunted Peveril Castle, from which it takes its name. Country pubs don't come much cosier. Here you can refuel with heart-warming pub-food, well-kept cask ales and well-chosen wines, before retiring to one of the comfy, characterful rooms.The Castle is close to four show caverns, where you can explore vaulted chambers, bottomless pits, gemstone mines and underground canals via boat. There's plenty more to see and do nearby, with some of the country's best footpaths winding through the stunning scenery of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castleton
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing