We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“beautiful setting”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We have just returned from a stay at the Innkeeper`s lodge in Castleton. On our arrival we were greeted by a friendly chap called Richard, who could not have been more welcoming and polite. He was kind enough to give us a complimentary bottle of champagne as it was my birthday. We regularly saw him and enjoyed a chat!
The food at the castle was lovely, the gormet chips were amazing! I found the beef and merlot pie exquisite.
A lovely touch which my husband and I really appreciated was from Ali the housekeeper. We had bought and bottle of our own champagne and had left it in our room. She had gone to the effort of putting it in an ice bucket, provided 2 champagne glasses and some fresh daffodils.

During our stay unfortunately the fire alarm tripped in the middle of the night on two consecutive nights, but I was quite reassured to know they worked! The manager and staff could not have been more apologetic.
Castleton itself is beautiful and idyllic. The Castle made a great base to explore the rest of the Peaks. We would recommend it as a place to stay. The only criticism would be the breakfast. It would have been nice to have a cooked option (either added to the price or an optional extra) as a fry up could only be ordered at the weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    120
    60
    28
    17
See reviews for
48
200
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Just returne from a stay at the innkeepers lodge (The Castle Hotel) Casstleton. Excellent location for one of the nicest places to stay in the Peak Disrtict.
We stayed in room 9 in the annex - which is at the rear of the main hotel so no road traffic noise. The room was large and roomy as was the ensuite bathroom (Shower over the bath) Double bed was comfy. The hotel itself has kept the old castle look and had inviting warm fires burning in the bar area. A good selection of real ales at hand.
Breakfast was good we paid extra for full english which was adequate and of good quality.
Overall I could not complain about anything as it was priced about right for the area.
As a tip I suggest that you book a room in the annex as the main road can get busy all time during the day or night.

Room Tip: Room 9 - on the ground floor - very good and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank officer133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We visited for Sunday lunch recently as a young family of 4 and whilst the food was extremely good (delicious, generously proportioned) - one rather disappointing element was the lack of blazing fire in our dining room. If you look at the website or indeed read the signs outside the pub, a great deal of emphasis is put on the fact that when it is cold outside, you can be guaranteed of a roaring log fire inside. Sadly, this was not the case and although we asked if the fire in our dining room could be lit, the waiter didn't seem interested.

Despite this minor gripe, we would recommend the pub for a pleasant place to enjoy a meal and enjoy some very nice real ales.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Occrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Castleton, Innkeeper's lodge Castleton .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We have visited castleton lots of times, I always insist we eat at The Castle. We took a party of 15 for my mums 80th birthday, we were all very disappointed with the food. Frozen chips (we were charged £1 extra for fat chips for 4 people, but never got the fat chips) the steak was over cooked and tough.side dish of vegetables was a dish of onions, the whole meal was poor. We waited a long time for the food to arrive. Don't normally write reviews but feel very disappointed especially as family had come from afar.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge, Castleton was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is the 1st time we stayed but second time we been. The room was lovely (room 10) the only problem was the room upstairs. When they walked you cud here them and the bathroom was cold as no heating in there. But apart from that it was perfect, and well the food we could not fault it. Best food we have had in a long long time.i recommend the fishcakes yummy. And we was sat near the log fire so made it perfect. Will differently be going back again with our boys. Thank you for making our stay perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnes27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge, Castleton , and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This was the second time we stayed, having previously been in march. Individual rooms and for a hotel chain in a honeypot village like castleton, quite a surprise. All amenities but a bit more character than usual. The only downside was a long wait for the cold water to cool down from a hot temperature! Ample space, laundry and storage with a large bed and comfortable ambience. We paid £90 for the night, so for New Year's Eve, reasonable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gatesey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at The Castle just before Christmas so we could go to the fabulous Christmas Carol service in the Peak Cavern. It's a really pretty pub - most of them are in lovely Castleton - and the bar was beautifully decorated with twigs and fairy lights. The problem is, unless you're ordering food, the only place you can sit is in the space right in front of the bar. And as it only seats about 4 people, you've no chance. Everywhere else is limited to diners, which is pretty unfair and ridiculous, especially when you're a guest of the place and you've been especially looking forward to a cosy night in the bar. So apart from a mulled wine, which we obviously had to drink outside, we didn't spend any time in there at all.

I know times are bad for pubs, but catering solely for diners not only makes the place look unattractive thanks to all the tables being permanently set for food, you deter everyone else who just wants a drink. Instead, we went to the George, which is just as nice inside with beams and fires and better still, not a vinegar pot in sight. Except the one the friendly staff bought out with our food! See, Castle, thanks to your silly policy, you did yourself out of 5 meals and lots of festive drink.

That's the first point. The second is the noise. We stayed in Room 3 - a nice enough room with a big bathroom, just a pity we didn't see the previous reviewer's warning about it. From about 5 in the morning, it was a constant barrage of doors slamming opening and shut and shouting. It was so loud at one point, I nearly leapt out of bed because I thought they were coming into the room. It was totally and utterly unacceptable. I appreciate the need for private rooms in pubs for the staff, but why have them next to guests' rooms when you know you're going to wake them up? Fortunately, our friends had a much better night's sleep in the annexe - they were on the second floor so there was no noise from their neighbours above - or the ghost. It is supposed to be haunted but I doubt you'd hear any ghostly creeps and groans thanks to the unearthly racket going on in the pub.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rache68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge , Castleton . We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every guest the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#6 of 7 in Hope Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
5.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Address: Castle Street | Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Peak District, Innkeeper's Lodge in Castleton occupies a magical spot in a beautiful corner of Derbyshire.Nestled amongst the hills of Hope Valley, and surrounded by stark limestone crags, wild moors, sheer rock edges and intriguing caves, it's clear to see why Castleton is known as the honey-pot of the Peak District.A coaching inn since the 1800s, The Castle is tucked underneath haunted Peveril Castle, from which it takes its name. Country pubs don't come much cosier. Here you can refuel with heart-warming pub-food, well-kept cask ales and well-chosen wines, before retiring to one of the comfy, characterful rooms.The Castle is close to four show caverns, where you can explore vaulted chambers, bottomless pits, gemstone mines and underground canals via boat. There's plenty more to see and do nearby, with some of the country's best footpaths winding through the stunning scenery of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castleton
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing