We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Nearby Hotels
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
George Hotel(Hathersage)
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little John Hotel(Hathersage)
$81
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Maynard(Grindleford)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$173
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveler rating
119
137
68
30
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
119
137
68
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastthe pubmain buildingcheck in was easychurch bellshaunted roompeak districtan overnight stayplenty of choicefull englishlog firelarge roomevening mealreal alethe ground floorsunday nightfood was lovely
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 372 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Called in for a drink and some food on Sat 28th sep. The two lads on the bar were friendly and the Peroni was lovely as it was an hot day but that was as good as it got I'm afraid.

We ordered a starter and 2 burgers, after 40 mins nothing had arrived and being sat near the bar I got wind we weren't the only unhappy ones. Another customer told me he'd been waiting an hour and someone was complaining they ordered 2 steaks, received only one which was cold. I asked for my money back which was dealt with promptly. Good bar staff, lousy kitchen staff.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Rick1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Your feedback is appreciated, we were very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Easy to find in centre of Castleton with free carparking to rear. Good value quality pub food.
Comfy bedroom and extremely powerful shower. Although room was overlooking main road trffic noise was minimal even with window open. No adverse comments at all. Breakfast is excellent

Room Tip: we were in room 12
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carnethy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Castle a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I was a bit surprised to find that having negotiated a set of stairs to reach our room that when we opened the room door there was another set of stairs to access the room ! As we had booked a non refundable tariff that included not changing rooms we put up with it, but I think it would be very useful if full details were provided at the booking stage as we would not have chosen this venue as I gave arthritis in my knees and I did find the accessibility difficult. The room itself was basic but the bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean.

I echo what others have said about the breakfast service, we were not given any welcome in fact the first morning we didn't see any one from the hotel. The food itself was OK and we are happy with continental breakfast on the middle morning of our stay we did go to the inn in Hope were my cousin was staying - we left it too late to get in there, what a difference though the staff were great and made us very welcome, we actually had dinner there twice due to the service provided. I find it hard to understand why they find breakfast so difficult to manage as we ate dinner in the hotel one evening and the staff could not have been more helpful and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to Innkeeper's Lodge, Castleton was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I booked this hotel on the the internet cautiously after reading some of the poor reviews. As we have 6 month old twins i phoned ahead to ask about cots. On arrival we were booked into the annex (room 8 ground floor) The room was huge and the travel cots had been put up and been provided with bedding which made things much easier for us. We ate in the pub both nights and the staff were all friendly and the food was decent quality. Breakfast is a buffet continental which we prefer anyway. I would definitely bring my family back here and can only assume there have been some staff changes!!!!

Room Tip: The annex is away from the main building which is good because you don't hear any noise. You can hear the floorboards creaking from upstairs but it didn't bother us.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna_coombes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Castle, Castleton. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job.
Innkeeper's Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked in as a stay over for a wedding nearby, but decided to make a bit of break of it seeing as we had got a rare night off the kids! The young lady who checked us in was really helpful and friendly. The room (10) wasn't too bad but needed some work, the linen was clean, but the decor was tired with paint flaking off the ceiling in the bathroom and the grout and sealant was disgusting around the bath. There was no 'free wi-fi' in the room. The room upstairs had the creakiest floor boards ever and although not the fault of the owners, the residents up there must have been ballroom dancing at 5am, it was so noisy. The next morning we came into the pub for our breakfast and the poor waitress was rushed off her feet (1 person for all residents) and consequently slightly curt in her responses. The breakfast was awful, no choice as to what you wanted within the breakfast just brought out and eat what you like off the plate....bacon was just fat, egg underdone etc. etc.
All this would not be too bad, but for what we paid, we feel very short changed and can't envisage us staying again. Thought that there may be an incentive to eat at the pub if you are staying, say 10% off a meal, or a free drink....but nothing...we went across the road to the Bulls Head. Your money would be better spent elsewhere.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

We are sorry that had disappointing stay at Innkeepers Lodge and we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.
Thank you.
Innkeeper’s Lodge,Castleton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews