We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“King of the Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Doncaster
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“King of the Castle”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Nice central location and stunning views from the beer garden. Comfortable clean room in courtyard with beamed apex ceiling. only stayed one night but the manager Neil was top notch with customer service- went above and beyond normal expaectations and never stopped smiling!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    119
    60
    28
    17
See reviews for
48
199
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

A week in Castleton the gem of the Peak District what could be better? Well we asked ourselves that question when visiting the Castle pub with its outstanding views especially from the beer garden. After an endless wait at the bar together with 9 other customers, a young girl was left on her own to cope when asked where the Manager was "you tell me!" We found seats outside to enjoy the amazing views. The patio was awful and didnt look like it had been swept for months and the glass top tables were minging. The staff approached (a young blonde girl with a filthy teatowel over her shoulder) and literally threw cutlery on the table. We explained we hadnt ordered food and she never uttered a word but the look spoke volumes. Observing other diners and they were receiving exactly the same glares. Needless to say we didnt stay to dine which was a good decision having visited the Ladies toilets just before leaving, they were absolutely disgusting. I returned to the bar to report the appalling state of the toilets and the girl behind the bar just shrugged her shoulders. How can an establishment in such a wonderful location be so terrible. Never mind though, they'll soon be another batch of unsuspecting tourists along tomorrow!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gibson1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I called into the Pub for a drink after visiting Speedwell cavern and carried on our travels to .We couldn't find a local hotel that ticked our boxes (clean and quaint) so we rang up to book a night into the castle as we noted what a lovely pub it was. We booked up over the phone and spoke to a woman at the main booking office, who was very helpful, efficient and polite. As soon as we arrived we were welcomed by good, cheerful staff. the room (number 7) was opposite in one of the outstables. The room was ok clean (did need a proper dust as there was heavy dust on fittings) but overall presenable. The only real gripe was how hard the pillows were! sooo hard We both had neck ache the next day. The breakfast was only a continental so we opted to pay for a full english. I'm a stickler for what makes a good english breakfast and this was just how it should be,thick cut toast, real mushrooms,local sausages etc. I found that the manager Neil was a good host and on the ball with regards to customer service. Overall a great british pub with accomodation,we will stay here again and do recommend
Kate and Seth,Suffolk

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sethandkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Wifey and I stayed for 1 night only on a Saturday in the only room they had available which was a family room costing about £73 including continental breakfast. Check in was easy and friendly. This is a good pub serving decent beers and with a good pub menu. My room was in an annexe next to the main hotel where breakfast is served.
The room was big enough for four with a comfortable double bed and a sofa bed which was made up despite me telling them when booking that there was only two of us. Furnishings were quite nice and the bathroom was clean and modern with an electric over the bath shower. I knew when I booked that the breakfast was continental only so I was ok with that but if a full English isn't on offer the next time we visit Castleton I might be going elsewhere.
The hotels location is really good. There are several pubs and attractions within a couple of minutes and you can use the location as the start and finish to loads of very good popular walks.
A "must try" is the Italian restaurant opposite called 1530.
All in all we had a very nice two days in Castleton and I would recommend the castle if you can make do with a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Check in made me extremely welcome. A Premier Inn or Travel Lodge this is not! As some of the hotel was built in the late 16th Century, there are certain oddities. My room had a step in it that led to the bathroom! The room numbering does not seem to have a system! To maintain security there is a door at the top of the stairs that leads to the bedrooms. Residents have an electronic key for the door. It does however open towards you onto a small landing! No sign of a lift but for visitors with disabilities there are some room across the courtyard that are on the ground floor. Reminder, this is a very old hotel! Bedroom clean, tidy and well furnished including a very comfortable bed with plenty of pillows. Some signs of wallpaper starting to come away from exterior wall but I can cope with that. Bathroom modern and shower nice and powerful. Continental breakfast was satisfactory with plenty of choice. No cooked breakfast available except at weekends. In conclusion, if you want a modern, clinically perfect hotel then this is not for you. If however you want to stay in an interesting place with history and do not mind the odd foible then it is a great place!

Room Tip: Room 4 overlooks an outside drinking area but the noise was minimal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbob31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We arrived at the castle and straight away were made to feel welcome. check in was quick and easy and our room was in the main building. It was a family room so as a couple we had lots of space. The views from our room were very pleasant with the hills overlooking us. This hotel is an ideal base for a multi night stay to discover the delights of the peak district. The food and drinks were good with breakfast a continetal buffet style but with lots of choice. Overall we would recomend people use this hotel to discover the charms of castleton and its surrounding area.

Room Tip: We would imagine any of the rooms would be good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alantasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Have given Excellent review for this lodge because very warm and welcoming check-in. Our room was very big, huge bathroom (bath and shower over). Very efficient radiator in room - as although in JUNE!? got a bit cool towards evening so had to switch on.Bed very comfortable. Food very reasonable in price and delicious. The only drawback was the EXTREMELY noisy people in the room above us - and if we had been staying longer would have said something about it. We were on ground floor No. 10, and the people over us in No 7. Sounded as if they were having a game of football in the room!. We have stayed in many hotels, lodges etc all over the country and never experienced noise like it. BUT it wasn't the lodges fault,and had only paid £39, hence our excellent rating. Perhaps we were just unlucky this time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siouxsioux01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
367 reviews
5.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
378 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bamford
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
366 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Address: Castle Street | Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Peak District, Innkeeper's Lodge in Castleton occupies a magical spot in a beautiful corner of Derbyshire.Nestled amongst the hills of Hope Valley, and surrounded by stark limestone crags, wild moors, sheer rock edges and intriguing caves, it's clear to see why Castleton is known as the honey-pot of the Peak District.A coaching inn since the 1800s, The Castle is tucked underneath haunted Peveril Castle, from which it takes its name. Country pubs don't come much cosier. Here you can refuel with heart-warming pub-food, well-kept cask ales and well-chosen wines, before retiring to one of the comfy, characterful rooms.The Castle is close to four show caverns, where you can explore vaulted chambers, bottomless pits, gemstone mines and underground canals via boat. There's plenty more to see and do nearby, with some of the country's best footpaths winding through the stunning scenery of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castleton
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing