We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coffee?”

The Hidden Tearoom and Bistro
Ranked #5 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Castleton
Restaurant details
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“coffee?”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

After a day's walking and a need for a drink, this was the first cafe we came across. We also found the owner extremely rude, demanding that we ordered food or left.We were offered scones and at over £3 each now realise why we were not offered a menu. One of us ordered coffee which arrived full of coffee dregs. When we pointed this out to the owner, he stated that, that was why she was given extra ! It was certainly an experience but not one to be repeated.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank newlyretiredleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    12
    19
    168
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Basil Fawlty lives!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

If you like your afternoon tea served with a large slice of unwelcome and a pot of distaste to wash it down, look no further. Indeed, if you enjoy the concept of being insulted and made to feel uncomfortable, this could be the place for you! Perhaps, you are huge fans of Fawlty Towers and would like the experience at the standard price of a cream tea (which are allegedly tasty) then Dolly's "Hidden" Tea Room/Bistro in Castleton, Derbyshire is probably the place for you. Having spent a good half hour enjoying our coffee and the shade (on a very hot day), but being regularly appalled by the rudeness displayed to all and sundry that dared to approach the proprietor, I think it is in good order to warn any friendly folk of what awaits. Indeed a nearby local said to us as we left sharing smiles, "Did you enjoy Fawlty Towers?" mirroring our own opinion of just minutes before. To be honest, it would have been hard to overshadow a very pleasant day in a beautiful setting, but the proprietor came dangerously close to taking the edge off it. In the end, what goes around comes around - and I imagine that he is the loser in the long term. Any man that feels the need to boast to his customers "I sell a thousand scones a week" (that his poor wife allegedly bakes) is probably not just treading water, but trying to avoid drowning in his own incompetence.
The cafetierre had a damaged spout and the proprietor smoked within breathing distance of us and other customers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Elvis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oh My God”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I've never been somewhere with so many problems, it such a shame as the village is lovely and the other cafes and restaurants are so welcoming...

Where do I start? The owner and the staff are dirty and rude, the tables outside that are falling apart are in the road wirth cars running by, the owners fag butts are all over the floor, if you ask for anything he's unhelpful and the prices are silly, the ice cream doesn't come in the suppliers tubs (not sure if it's cheap rubbish, i'd guess so as it tastes of nothing) he thinks he's a chef but I can't imagine how he gets past the inspections of the premises and the food, he should be shut down!!! Don't waste your time or money!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank katie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“DONT BOTHER”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

what a horrible man!sat down to tea which was ok but owner was hovering with a face like thunder.a mum came with 2 little girls to ask how much ice cream was.when told mum told her girls to ask daddy if he had some pennies as you do with kids.the owner mockingley said yes see if you can afford it ! then he turned to his member of staff and said i should serve them s##t on a plate and charge them nothing! mr faulty eat your heart out! stay away from here at all costs he needs to go bust and let someone else take over

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank barnsleydisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“hide this place back up the Devil's cavern”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The only reason you would want to visit this cafe is so you can enjoy a real life Basil Fawlty and begin to appreciate the service in any other tourist hotspot.
During our time in the cafe, the owner turned away at least three groups for failing to order drink AND a food and was rude about them after they'd left; his juniors were told to "turn around tables faster" within earshot of us customers; we were told to be grateful for having a table at all and criticised for playing with our food.
If, by playing, he meant "attempting to cut open a bone dry, partially baked excuse of a £4 scone and it crumbing to pieces", then he would have been correct.
I have no idea why we stayed or why we paid other than as a token of appreciation for the comedy value we gained from the experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank tedtrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hidden Tearoom and Bistro also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District National Park
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to The Hidden Tearoom and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing