We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing after visit to the mines”

The Three Roofs Cafe
Ranked #8 of 21 Restaurants in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Three Roofs Cafe is a cafe situated the heart of Hope Valley. The cafe delivers a high level of good homemade food, hot and cold beverages and a nice homely environment that gives good value for money. The cafe also hosts Bistro nights during the summer months, is dog-friendly and welcomes muddy boots. The Three Roofs Cafe has parking facilities within close proximity are a number of local attractions and amenities. You can even stay at the The Three Roofs Cafe with a beautiful 1-bed holiday let available to hire above the Cafe. The village is great for walkers, cyclists, familes and is dog friendly too. There are many facilities in the local village including, Bed & Breakfast, local pubs, souvernir shops and lots of beautiful cottages.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Six of us called in and were made very welcome by the staff who very quickly cleared a table for us, The Teas and Scones were very enjoyable and filling there was a varied menu worth a visit.

Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Public Relations Manager at The Three Roofs Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

We do accommodate large groups and we are always happy to make reservations. We're pleased you had a nice time with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 417 of 580 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

Popped in for afternoon. Good menu on offer, tried the flapjack & my wife had the scone which was sizable along with cream & jam. Nice tea & good place to dine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Public Relations Manager at The Three Roofs Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thankyou for your feedback. Our scones are popular and we bake fresh daily. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went for breakfast with friends and our 1 year old. Food was lovely, well cooked and a good portion size and staff were very friendly and helpful. The place is child friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lucylu192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Public Relations Manager at The Three Roofs Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

We are child friendly and thankyou for your review. We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We visited Castleton in September and thought it was a lovely place. We stopped off for a quick drink and scone before heading off into the carverns.
The Three Roofs cafe was a lovely place, the interior looked very shabby chic (although we sat outside with our pooches).

The hot chocolate and coffee was nice and the warm scone was tasty although a little crumbly. It was nice that it clearly wasn't a mass produced scone so that was fine.

We wanted to come back later in the day for lunch but they were extremely busy and had no spare seating, our loss but I'm sure it's a good sign of their service, price and products.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim_Sammons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Public Relations Manager at The Three Roofs Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thankyou for your review. It's a pity you couldn't join us for lunch. The next time you visit please feel free to call beforehand and we will be more than happy to reserve you a table. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

After having a walk around Castleton we nipped into this lovely little cafe to receive a very warm and friendly welcome. We ordered a Pot of tea and a Cappuccino which both arrived nice a quickly, we also ordered a couple of Ciabbatta Sandwiches which were excellent, the prices seem to be very reasonable for a tourist spot like Castleton. As we only live some 45 minutes away we will be back to try some more of the menu and the cakes that look wonderful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rodger_wilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee W, Owner at The Three Roofs Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for your review. Our menu is available on our website and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Roofs Cafe also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to The Three Roofs Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing