We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of 1530

1530
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Their telephone number is 01433621870. Postcode is S33 8WH. Very impressive restaurant in a small village, and I would love to give them a review. Thanks. Peter Taylor
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

Lovely welcome. Very friendly staff, couldn’t do enough for you. Food was superb especially the carbonara. Very nice restaurant. A little slow in between courses but other then that it was excellent. Will def return when next in the area

Thank Downba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 537 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

I took my wife to Castleton for her birthday weekend and I was looking for somewhere to take her for dinner on a Friday night. From tripadvisor I read the reviews and ratings beforehand which led me to opt for 1530. We were not disappointed. We went for olives and some bread and oils for a starter instead of the standard starters which went down well. My wife had the prawn linguine for a main which had all sorts of fishy delights and I opted for the Sirloin with triple cooked chips. The waiters and waitresses were excellent, checking in occasionally but not overdoing it as some restaurants sometimes do. We will definitely come again

Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

We visited on a Sunday evening and were surprised to find that the restaurant had plenty of gluten free & dairy free options, the staff were really friendly and explained everything in the menu that could be made gluten & dairy free. We had 2 courses & the food was lovely! We’ll definitely be back next time we’re in Castleton!

Thank RuthB3025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

Someone suggested this place to try for our evening meal. The staff were friendly and drinks were brought over in good time . My husband's pizza didn't look cooked and my pasta was hard and missing some ingreadiants that were listed on the menu. We were disappointed and informed staff who apologised and a refund was given for the food.

Thank TD86101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1530therestaurant, Owner at 1530, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2018

I think you have used a bit of poetic license on this one, if you can actually remember the evening!!!
Firstly you made no mention of the pizza being under-cooked on the evening, especially as this was fully eaten by your Husband.
As for your Pasta, which was a Beetroot & Goats Cheese Pasta. You asked for this to be vegan. The compliant on the night was you thought the pasta was Gluten Free, that was correct as all my other Gluten pasta contains egg therefore is NOT Vegan. The missing ingredient of your pasta was Pine nuts, as the only Pine nuts i had were already in my non vegan goats cheese & beetroot pesto.

We have a number of Vegan dishes and Vegan substitutes available on the menu. As we do not have a supermarket at the back of the kitchen, sometimes certain INGREDIENTS will not be available in a completely changed dish

Our new menu will have a greater number of Vegan dishes due to the mainly positive and constructive feed back we have received from the dishes on the menu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018

Visited on my own on a week day evening. Waitress was lovely but I ended up sat in the dining room by myself for a considerable amount of time so couldn't really comment on atmosphere (or lack of!)
I decided to go for a pizza as it was £6 (weekday deal) but was like eating a giant savoury biscuit rather than a pizza, and not in a pleasant way. Couldn't imagine paying full price for it.

Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1530 also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to 1530? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing