We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of George Inn

George Inn
Ranked #11 of 20 Restaurants in Castleton
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We eat here regularly. Great food, bonkers portion sizes but fantastic quality and great after hiking. Lovely staff and service always consistently good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank flossy1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    102
    49
    17
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Really nice food, reasonable price, good service, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We (2 kids, 2adults) dropped into the George after a long walk and a trip to the caves at Castleton. It was around one thirty on a Sunday, but we got a seat straight away (and a space in the car park by the way - around the back). We had a great meal, which cost us about £50. The rabbit pie is really good - loads of meat, great pastry etc. The beef roast dinner was also good according to Mrs L. The staff were very good and the pub itself seemed really nice - and warm (which was important...). We will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colinhs9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
318 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Nice pie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

There were 8 of us and we had booked a table in the restaurant on the Saturday night before Chrsitmas. The staff were helpful and friendly. As we had a dog we managed to sit in the bar and eat which was no trouble to the staff. I had Mussels to start with which were good and the Lamb and Black Pudding pie for main. The pie was excellent, the chips were good but the Brussel Sprouts tasted like they were frozen. Two small criticisms, as soon as they took out starters away, they bought our main courses without even a minutes break to breath so we didn't get a bit of a breather between courses. The other would be they don't have a wine list and served us Echo Falls which really isn't the best red wine for a nice pub. But, overall, a good meal and good friendly service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BarnsleyChappers147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“cosy inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

we always visit the George at least once whenever we stay in Castleton. The pub has good homely food,the service is fast and staff are polite and friendly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CheshireSnorkeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Goid pub atmosphere - Great filling in pie - rubbish pastry and staff not happy when u tell them about it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Was told not to expect 5 star service if not prepared to pay for it - all I wanted was a sorry - but the manageress was very defensive - didn't acknowledge what I said was good about meal and most of what is on trip advisor is all lies - u decide

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David63ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Inn also viewed

 
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing