We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food, relaxing - faultless ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bull's Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bull's Head Inn
Ranked #10 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, relaxing - faultless ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Visited here twice in a month, brilliant each time..

Lovely food, I really do mean lovely... Had two different dishes and both were fab!

Real fire, real ale, sensible prices.

Really clean all round also

We'll worth a visit, following a muddy walk or for a more formal affair

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobandZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    64
    17
    12
    13
See reviews for
49
88
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We ate here with friends recently, we had barely placed our order and some of the starters came out but it took another 20 mins to get them all ! And some still came wrong. The crispy duck starter i had was burnt and tasteless.
Same with the mains, it took forever for them all to arrive so after the first course problem we told them to start. some had finished before last ones came out. I ordered rump steak but im sure it was only frying steak.
Alot of the meals were very similar and uninspiring although sounded very different.
At least the beer was nice !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank motomoto26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bp Auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here a while back and at the time we were'nt into leaving reviews on TA, but after having visited a fair few B&B's we still think this is our favourite and now feel compelled to leave our opinion.
Lovely hearty meal, beautiful bedroom on the corner of the building offering views along the street and stunning ones especially up the valley to Winnets pass and then a good and plentiful English breakfast than would sate even the most hearty of appetites.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albev34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
299 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Lovely Sunday lunch with good portions served quickly, very friendly. In the pub by 12.30 and some tables were reserved and by 1.30 they were turning people away. Value for money. In spite of being busy we were not rushed from our table even though we were in the dinning part of the pub. In the centre of Castleton so good position for looking around or going for a walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were staying in the Peak District for a few days and had visited the Blue John caves earlier in the day (very worthwhile byt the way). There were 6 of us and the pub had a very warm and inviting feel. Between us we ordered Lamb Shank, Steak and Ale Pie, a couple off the Specials board and a couple of ixed grills. The quality was superb. All the food was tasty and the portions were large. In particular, the mixed grills were gigantic and had even 2 men with very healthy appetites struggling to finish them! A good standard menus with lots of specials is all you need from an evening out. To be slightly picky, the prices are a little bit on the high side for pub grub at between £10.95 and £14.95 for our choices, but there were no complaints about the quality of food. The one niggle we had was that the pub advertised "no VAT" if food was ordered before 6.30, which we did. As it turned out this applied to selected dishes only and only one out of our 6 qualified. Pretty shabby we felt.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

An excellent stay at the Bull's Head.The pub has lots of atmosphere and is very cosy. The staff are all really friendly and the food was lovely, well presented and reasonably priced. We had a lovely room with fantastic views towards Mam Tor. Breakfast next morning was excellent and my husband commented it was one of the best breakfasts he had ever had. We will definitely stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PoggyGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We came for a late lunch after visiting one of the Hope Valley caverns. We liked the log fire, the friendly staff and the comfortable seating.

Our food was generally good, the mixed grill excellent,we felt well fed but the goat's cheese and beetroot a bit disappointing if I'm being picky

Altogether a very pleasant experience in a lovely pub

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
1.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
0.0 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#1 of 13 in Castleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull's Head Inn

Property: Bull's Head Inn
Address: Cross Street | Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Bull`s Head Hotel Castleton
Bull's Head Inn Castleton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing