We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Castleton”
Review of Bull's Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bull's Head Inn
Ranked #10 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Castleton”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

An excellent stay at the Bull's Head.The pub has lots of atmosphere and is very cosy. The staff are all really friendly and the food was lovely, well presented and reasonably priced. We had a lovely room with fantastic views towards Mam Tor. Breakfast next morning was excellent and my husband commented it was one of the best breakfasts he had ever had. We will definitely stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoggyGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    65
    20
    13
    14
See reviews for
51
93
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We came for a late lunch after visiting one of the Hope Valley caverns. We liked the log fire, the friendly staff and the comfortable seating.

Our food was generally good, the mixed grill excellent,we felt well fed but the goat's cheese and beetroot a bit disappointing if I'm being picky

Altogether a very pleasant experience in a lovely pub

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The title says it all really. Good pub grub, decent ales, friendly bar staff and a relaxing environment. We had two nights in Castleton and whittled away many an evening hour here. Just right for a bit of R&R.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MStow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just a sort of local day out to Castleton and decided to have lunch at the Bulls Head, after being on a diet for ages decided my real treat would be fish and chip. (Something to do with fish & chips deprivation)
Miserable Monday weather so the pub wasn't busy. Had to wait for the meal which isn't a complaint. Would much rather wait and get a freshly cooked meal rather than one that has been standing for ever.
When it came couldn't believe my eyes, hubby and I could have shared it and still had some left over. It should have been served with bread and butter which I declined. The fish wasn't far short of a foot long sat atop a mountain of chips along with mushy peas. Now I'm sure this is an old northern thing, it was served on news paper on top of the plate. Of course it wasn't any old paper it was the Fish & Chips Times I think, with the history of fish and chips.
A nice touch, took me back to my teenage days when you bought fish&chips wrapped in paper and you had something to read.
Excellent service and tasty meal, the problem was couldn't eat it all, didn't have room for a sweat and didn't eat anything else until the following day. I'm sure people must be able to eat such large serving but can I suggest you do smaller pensioner serving then we could treat ourselves to your lovely sounding sweats.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank njohnsey1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

As part of my planned visit to UK, I was pleasantly surprised with the room and the view towards Winnats Pass. The bathroom was ok but the shower was the smallest I have ever experienced. I enjoyed both breakfast and dinner during my two week stay. The food menu is both long and varied, and would suit all tastes. The quality of food could only be described as excellent. Bar and restaurant service was efficient and friendly and I was well looked after for the whole of my visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kp0vey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We visited Castleton for the day and decided to have lunch here, as there was an outside sitting area with views. Service was excellent, staff very friendly. Food came prompt, but cooked fresh. Portion size was generous, and we thought it was excellent value for money. My partner and daughter had the fish & chips, and they ate the lot. They said it was excellent. My daughter finished with the chocolate fudge cake and ice cream, which went down a treat. I can only say that this place serves good food and delivers a good friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank suzie65_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

It was a last minute decision to visit the mines around Castleton and we arrived just in time for lunch. We ordered the beef, kidney and ale pie with a choice of potatoes and mixed fresh vegetables along with the cod and chips with mushy peas. The tray sliced pies were very tasty with good quality pastry and well cooked meat which melted in the mouth. The chips were properly home cooked, crispy and dry without a residue of oil. The battered fish would not fit on the plate and the service was very attentive igf perhaps a little slow which is understandable and acceptable if you want freshly prepared food. There is a good selection of real ales and the wines are very drinkable and good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diandaveuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
8.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,662 reviews
5.1 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#2 of 13 in Castleton
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull's Head Inn

Property: Bull's Head Inn
Address: Cross Street | Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Bull`s Head Hotel Castleton
Bull's Head Inn Castleton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing