We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pub in Castleton”
Review of Bull's Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bull's Head Inn
Ranked #10 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pub in Castleton”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for three nights. The room had great views,was very clean and comfortable as was the whole pub. The pub was spacious and well laid out with comfortable chairs. It also has its own large car park.The owners and staff were very welcoming and friendly. The food is very good, especially the breakfast. They even had vegetarian sausages for my wife. Nice touch!
Castleton is a lovely village for hill walking and, if you cannot manage hills, try the Castleton to Hope public footpath. This is ok as long as you can manage a few stiles and don't mind sheep.
Even if you can't manage this, ther are 6 pubs to walk to and from. Having sampled them all, The Bull's Head is the one we would return to.
Tom,Walsall, 27/06/2013

Room Tip: Didn't see the other rooms, but we had room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megapep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    65
    20
    13
    14
See reviews for
51
93
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We ate here twice last week. The first time I had steak and hubby had pie. My "medium-rare" steak was medium-well and although it tasted nice I just couldn't eat more than half as it was really dry. Hubby enjoyed his pie. The second time we both had pie which was delicious. They are also generous with the nicely cooked vegetables and hubby liked the real ales. Service was ok with some staff not so friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great value B&B. Room very clean and comfortable with great views. The breakfast was huge. Weekends can get very busy so if you want an evening meal in the pub, book a table well beforehand, there is a good selection of meals are very good value for money. All in all a great place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Booked this with friends for a long weekend in and around Castleton. The girls went horse riding at Ladybooth 10 mins drive away, whilst the guys went hill walking starting at Ladybooth and finishing on loose Hill via the reservoirs.
We arrived on Friday evening and got settled into The Old Workshop. A welcome pack of the essentials, bread, milk, eggs etc was a nice touch. Tea and coffee also available for a quick brew whilst unpacking.
We went down to the Bulls head for a bite to eat......WOW!!!!!! absolutely top notch food. The food was well above pub grub standard and very reasonably priced (would definitely recommend eating here).
The accommodation (The Old Workshop) was perfect. 2 Double (En-suite) bedrooms, Kitchen and very spacious living room with TV, free sat, books and games to keep everyone entertained if the weather does put a halt to your plans.
In summary, the pub and the old workshop are both fantastic value for money. I would, without hesitation book here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColBradford_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had an excellent lunch in this pub. The pub interior is well mainitained and comfortable with real fires. The food was good quality, fresh and reasonably priced - beer good too. There is much to reccommend Castleton also, lots to see nearby and pubs are numerous too. We intend to return for a weekend stay in this pub on the strength of our lunch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cryptomuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went for a meal out with two families on a busy Saturday night. I had expected the usual stress of trying to talk to bar staff about dairy free meals for my eight year old ho is allergic to milk. The man at the bar was so very helpful and chilled about it that it put me completely at ease. He quite happily traipsed to and from the kitchen a couple of times to check ingredients of items on the children's menu. And the food was great too - a fab evening in a lovely pub.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliriocx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We called in at the pub for a break after exploring Castleton, the pub was warm and welcoming. The food being served looked and smelled fantastic. The cream tea was good value for money and lucky for my better half it was large enough to share. We were served immediately and all staff were polite. I would consider going again for either a meal or a short stay in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigaile G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
8.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,662 reviews
5.1 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#2 of 13 in Castleton
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull's Head Inn

Property: Bull's Head Inn
Address: Cross Street | Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Bull`s Head Hotel Castleton
Bull's Head Inn Castleton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing